Skip to Main Content

It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 & 1102 - Prof. Ditusa

Describes essay requirements and provides links to research sources.

Modules 1, 2, and 3

ENC1102 Module 1: Advertising

Choose a specific advertisement, a company’s advertising campaign over time, or how companies choose their platforms and avenues to reach their target demographics. This is a 1150 word analysis (approximately 4 pages) with a minimum of 7 outside sources. Keep in mind that you have a 20% essay of 1850 words (approximately 6 pages) with 10 sources to complete this semester.

Small: Look at a specific ad: print, radio, digital, TV, etc., or single campaign which incorporates multiple modalities and consider what their target audience/customer is and analyze their method of attracting that audience and its effectiveness.

Large: Look at a company (or specific product’s) ad campaign over the course of a period of time, over decades in some cases, and analyze how they have adapted their campaigns to be more reflective of the current time, how they speak to cultural moments at the time, how they work to maintain market share, and generate new customers.

Supersize Me: Take a look at a television show, or some comparable context and look at the totality of all the advertising for that show. Analyze what sort of audience they are envisioning and how they are marketing themselves to their perceived demographic. Consider companies who advertise multiple times during a specific show and why. 

15% essay: 1 primary source, 3 sources from BC library databases or books from the library, 1 visual (also probably from the BC library databases), 1 essay from the course textbook, and 1 minimum other secondary or tertiary source of your choice.  

20% essay: 1 primary source, 4 sources from BC library databases or books from the library, 2 visuals (also probably from the BC library databases), 1 essay from the course textbook, and 2 minimum other secondary or tertiary sources of your choice

ENC 1102 Module 2: TV/Film

Perform a researched, semiotic analysis of a TV program or movie of your choosing. Try to conceptualize not just your favorite program or film, but rather something you are familiar with that has larger thematic concerns, and has gravitas to analyze. You should view your choice several times and takes notes so you can be as specific as possible in your essay. The subject of your analysis, TV or film, is your primary source. If you wind up comparing two programs or films, then you have multiple primary sources. The research requirement is for secondary sources, scholarship you incorporate and discuss in the body of your essay. This is a 1150 word analysis (approximately 4 pages) with a minimum of 7 outside sources or a 20% essay of 1850 words (approximately 6 pages) with 10 outside sources.

Consider the following approaches to this essay:

Outside In: With this approach you are analyzing the primary source through the lens of its placement in time, structure, and theme as it relates to its genre. Consider its associations and differences. In chapter 3, the authors discussed Orange is the New Black (OITNB) as it relates to a multitude of other shows. Analyze your primary source from this perspective.

Inside Out: With this approach you are explicating the primary source in depth for all its signs and their meanings to get to its larger thematic concern, or argue the filmmaker's objective. Again referring to chapter 3, also with OITNB, the authors looked inward at a specific episode called "The Chickening" where they unpacked the symbolism of that episode in depth.

ENC 1102 Module 3: New Media/Social Media

This is a 1150 word analysis (approximately 4 pages) with a minimum of 7 outside sources or a 20% essay of 1850 words (approximately 6 pages) with 10 outside sources.

Note: If you have not produced your 20% essay thus far, you are required to on this assignment. Producing an essay which does not satisfy the 20% requirements will not constitute a partial credit grade on the essay. It will fail.

Here are the writing prompts to choose from:

1. Similar to essay two, perform an outside/in or inside/out researched analysis of a website. Please refer back to that assignment for specifics.

2. Consider movements which have been made possible through hyper-connectivity and analyze how they used digital spaces to perpetuate their movements and consider the future of social change.

3. Choose a celebrity who makes significant use of social media. Do a denotative and connotative analysis of their identity creation where you also abductively reason their motivations, impact, successes and failures.

Source Requirements

When I [Ditusa] say sources, I am talking about research, secondary and tertiary sources above and beyond anything associated  with the primary source(s). All citations must be properly formatted and introduced, vetted, paraphrased or quoted from and parenthetically cited within the essay. Of course, you also need to analyze each source as it supports your argumentative, analytical thesis.

15% essay: 3 sources from BC library databases or books from the library, 1 visual (also probably from the BC library databases), 1 essay from our course textbook, and a minimum of 1 other secondary or tertiary source of your choice. Everything associated with your primary source (what you're analyzing) will be considered a source to be annotated. At minimum, there will be 7 citations on the last page of your essay and utilized (introduced, quoted or paraphrased from, parenthetically cited, and analyzed in relation to thesis) within the essay itself. If it's not in the essay, it does not belong on the last page whether you looked it up or not.

20% essay: 4 sources from BC library databases or books from the library, 2 visuals (also probably from the BC library databases), 1 essay from our course textbook, and a minimum of 2 other secondary or tertiary source of your choice. Everything associated with your primary source (what you're analyzing) will be considered a source to be annotated. At minimum, there will be 10 citations on the last page of your essay and utilized (introduced, quoted or paraphrased from, parenthetically cited, and analyzed in relation to thesis) within the essay itself. If it's not in the essay, it does not belong on the last page whether you looked it up or not.

Combined or Enhanced (3000 words, 35%): 6 sources from BC library databases or books from the library, 3 visuals (also probably from the BC library databases), 2 essay from our course textbook, and a minimum of 3 other secondary or tertiary source of your choice. Everything associated with your primary source (what you're analyzing) will be considered a source to be annotated. At minimum, there will be 15 citations on the last page of your essay and utilized (introduced, quoted or paraphrased from, parenthetically cited, and analyzed in relation to thesis) within the essay itself. If it's not in the essay, it does not belong on the last page whether you looked it up or not.

Combined+Enhanced (4000 words, 50%): 8 sources from BC library databases or books from the library, 4 visuals (also probably from the BC library databases), 2 essay from our course textbook, and a minimum of 4 other secondary or tertiary source of your choice. Everything associated with your primary source (what you're analyzing) will be considered a source to be annotated. At minimum, there will be 19 citations on the last page of your essay and utilized (introduced, quoted or paraphrased from, parenthetically cited, and analyzed in relation to thesis) within the essay itself. If it's not in the essay, it does not belong on the last page whether you looked it up or not.

Video Essay: There may be times in your academic career where you may be asked to create a video rather than textual essay. If this is a skill set you would like to consider and develop I offer you the opportunity to learn and practice video creation here. You may replace a 15% essay with a video essay of 8-10 minutes in length. I'm operating under the assumption that one minute of text equates to two minutes of video. You will still be required to write textual essays for your other 15% and 20%, or write a 35%, 3000 word enhanced or combined essay. It is still a writing class. You will not be evaluated on the quality of the video you create, but rather the same criteria for our essays, that being a well supported pop culture analysis incorporating research. Keep in mind this is not just a PowerPoint, but a functioning video. 

Hopefully, everyone has noted the redundancies in discussing sources and their use. A major course objective is development of informational literacy skills. Everyone needs to use sources from the library to pass the class.