It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
“Any intervention that may be used for safe and effective prevention, diagnosis, treatment and rehabilitation of illness and disease. This includes the pharmaceuticals, devices, procedures and organizational systems used in health care.” (Wikipedia)
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
This entry is the same as Opposing Viewpoints in Context.
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. This searches only for eBooks.
Note: You will have to log in with your One Login (BC email) to access library resources.
Handbook of Medical and Healthcare Technologies by Borko Furht (Editor); Ankur Agarwal (Editor)This book equips readers to understand a complex range of healthcare products that are used to diagnose, monitor, and treat diseases or medical conditions affecting humans. The first part of the book presents medical technologies such as medical information retrieval, tissue engineering techniques, 3D medical imaging, nanotechnology innovations in medicine, medical wireless sensor networks, and knowledge mining techniques in medicine. The second half of the book focuses on healthcare technologies including prediction hospital readmission risk, modeling e-health framework, personal Web in healthcare, security issues for medical records, and personalized services in healthcare. The contributors are leading world researchers who share their innovations, making this handbook the definitive resource on these topics. Handbook of Medical and Healthcare Technologies is intended for a wide audience including academicians, designers, developers, researchers and advanced-level students. It is also valuable for business managers, entrepreneurs, and investors within the medical and healthcare industries.
Publication Date: 2013-11-20
The Peril and Promise of Medical Technology by D. Gareth JonesMedical technology is one of the most powerful forces in the modern world, with enormous opportunities for good. For many in affluent countries, the expectations of what constitutes the good life have been transformed, as neonatal mortality rates have declined, life expectancy has increased, and one disease after another has been defeated. However, it is not an unalloyed blessing, as social patterns have been transformed, family structures have been challenged, and ordinary people as well as health professionals and scientists confront novel ethical dilemmas. Gareth Jones writes not only as a scientist and bioethicist but also as a Christian. His aim is to make sense of some of the myriad issues encountered in a world dominated by medical technology. These include manipulation at the earliest stages of embryonic human life, through to ageing and attempts at bringing about physical immortality. The perceived power of genes is critically examined, as are claims that morality can be enhanced using technology. The centrality of the brain for making us what we are is sympathetically examined, against the backdrop of the ongoing debate on dualism and physicalism. Acknowledging our ever-increasing dependence upon medical technology, the author explores ways in which we can live in hope rather than fear.
Publication Date: 2013-10-07
Springer Handbook of Medical Technology by Klaus-Peter Hoffmann (Editor); Rüdiger Kramme (Editor); Robert Steven Pozos (Editor)This concise, user-oriented and up-to-date desk reference offers a broad introduction to the fascinating world of medical technology, fully considering today's progress and further development in all relevant fields. The Springer Handbook of Medical Technology is a systemized and well-structured guideline which distinguishes itself through simplification and condensation of complex facts. This book is an indispensable resource for professionals working directly or indirectly with medical systems and appliances every day. It is also meant for graduate and post graduate students in hospital management, medical engineering, and medical physics.