It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CultureShock! Italy is the must-have guide for anyone living or working in Italy and who wants to decipher this diverse and rich country. This book will guide you through the highs and lows of adapting to Italian culture, offering useful tips and suggestions along the way. Learn about the geographical diversity of the country and how to hire a geometra for all your accommodation needs. Navigate your way through Italian body language and discover what it really means. Understand Italian family values and pick up tips on business etiquette.
Completely updated every year Frommer's Italy features a section of gorgeous color photos of the most of the ancient and modern cities, classical architecture and ruins, vineyards, villages, and gorgeous countryside vistas that await you. Much more detailed and comprehensive than the major competition, this is simply the most reliable and in-depth guide you can buy. It's personally researched and full of candid opinions. Our authors have chosen the very best places to stay, from the grand hotels of Rome and the chic resorts of Capri to charming and affordable inns and small hotels in regions like Tuscany and the Lake District. And of course, we'll make sure that you dine memorably throughout Italy, whether you're splurging on a world-class restaurant in Florence or looking for a little-known trattoria that serves all the classics. Wherever you go, you'll rely on Frommer's for authoritative but fun-to-use coverage of all the historic, artistic, and cultural treasures. You'll get a complete shopper's guide, the latest trip-planning advice on everything from bargain airfares to rail passes, and a complete shopper's guide. Frommer's Italy even features a color fold-out map!
Veteran writer and Italy expert Tim Jepson makes this vibrant and fascinating country--home of some of the world's most sublime art, architecture, and literature and one of its oldest civilizations--highly accessible to the modern traveler. After a thorough introduction, he begins his coverage in Rome with specific, detailed suggestions on how to tackle this most sight-intensive city: "Your best approach is an oblique one," he writes. "Avoid the big-name sights at the outset, and ease yourself gently into the city with a coffee or a stroll around its most intimate squares." He continues with this kind of advice as he travels around the country--north to Lombardy, the Lakes, the Veneto, Tuscany, and Umbria, and then south to Naples, ending up in Sicily--combining intimate guidance with strong and substantive information. Special features include numerous city walks, drives around Lake Maggiore, through Chianti country, and into the heart of Umbria, and discussions of many aspects of Italian culture and contemporary life. An extensive Travelwise section offers a wide selection of author's picks of hotels, inns, and restaurants, as well as details on shopping and all the practical information you need to get around. The 2012 edition has been completely revised and updated, with new features including experiential sidebars, insider tips, and an overview of how best to plan a visit.
The relaunched National Geographic Traveler guidebooks are in tune with the growing trend toward experiential travel, providing more insider tips and expert advice for a more authentic, cultural experience of each destination. These books serve discerning, curious travelers and supply information and interpretation not available on the Internet. In response to the interests of today's traveler, the acclaimed National Geographic Traveler series includes exciting new editorial features, a contemporary redesign, and inviting new covers.
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Top 10 Naples and Amalfi Coast is the essential pocket-size guide to one of Europe's most beautiful destinations. Dozens of Top 10 lists are waiting to be explored, whether you are looking for the Top 10 scenic drives, local delicacies, museums and galleries, beaches and spas, best shopping areas, liveliest bars and clubs, or the best hotels for every budget. There's even a list of the Top 10 things to avoid. The guide is divided by area with restaurant reviews for each, as well as recommendations for hotels, bars and places to shop. You'll find the insider knowledge you need to discover every corner of this region with DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Top 10 Naples and Amalfi Coast and its pull-out map.
You'll never fall into the tourist traps when you travel with Frommer's. It's like having a friend show you around, taking you to the places locals like best. Our expert authors have already gone everywhere you might go-they've done the legwork for you, and they're not afraid to tell it like it is, saving you time and money. No other series offers candid reviews of so many hotels and restaurants in all price ranges. Every Frommer's Travel Guide is up-to-date, with exact prices for everything, dozens of color maps, and exciting coverage of sports, shopping, and nightlife. You'd be lost without us! Frommer's Northern Italy is the premier guide to the region, with complete coverage of Venice, the Dolomites and South Tirol, Milan and Lombardy, Liguria and the Italian Riviera, and more. You'll get candid reviews of the best hotels, restaurants, and nightlife, as well as the author's picks for the best travel experiences, including: cruising the brenta canal; driving the great dolomite road; riding the cable cars over mont blanc; hiking the cinque terre; taking in the art at the Pinacoteca di Brera in Milan; partying at the spring Carnevale in Venice; and more. Every one of our honest, in-depth hotel reviews is based on a recent personal inspection; every restaurant has been tried personally; and every sight and shop was checked out in detail. You'll get the latest trip-planning advice, valuable cultural insights, wonderful tips for venturing off the beaten path, and detailed, accurate maps. With Frommer's in hand, it's a snap to design the Italian adventure that's right for you.
From the beautiful Spanish Steps to the heights of Palatine Hill, Rome experts Sari Gilbert and Michael Brouse guide you through this historic and vibrant city. Illustrated with more than 120 vivid photographs and more than 20 detailed, full-color maps, the 4th edition of National Geographic Traveler: Rome gives you every tool you need to plan a trip to this fascinating city. Starting with an introduction to Rome's storied history and culture, the book then explores each of the city's regions, covering every corner of town in detail. Sites covered include the Colosseum, the Pantheon, the Arch of Constantine, the Roman and Imperial Forums, the Trevi Fountain, and the sublime ceiling of the Vatican Museums' Sistine Chapel. These, the many amazing museums that dot the city, and more are covered in lively detail. Special features and sidebars give comprehensive information on topics ranging from the Roman emperors to the importance of coffee and cafés to the city's residents. Experiential sidebars abound, including culinary classes on exquisite Roman cuisine, Italian language classes, and archaeological digs that delve deep into the city's past. In addition, the book features six detailed guided walks into the nooks and crannies of some of the city's most fascinating districts. A thorough, updated Travelwise section provides recommendations for shopping, hotels, and restaurants in all price ranges and in all areas. Whether you're planning to visit St. Peter's Square in the Holy See or the richly ornate Galleria Borghese museum, the newly updated National Geographic Traveler: Rome has all the information you need to plan an exceptional stay in Italy's capital city. The National Geographic Traveler series is aimed at active travelers who want authentic, enriching, cultural experiences and look to a guidebook for expert advice and insider tips from a trustworthy source. We offer ways for people to experience a place rather than just visit, and give the feel of each destination not easily found online.
See the best of Rome with this streamlined, itinerary-driven guide, created in a handy, take-along format. Part of a brand-new series from National Geographic that showcases the world's great cities, Walking Rome is divided into the following sections: The Whirlwind Tours section shows you how to see the entire city in a day or a weekend; what sights will interest kids most; plus, a hedonist's tour that's pure pleasure from dawn to midnight and beyond. The Neighborhoods section of the book presents the city broken down into 15-odd itineraries that lead you on a step-by-step tour to the best sights in each of the city's greatest neighborhoods--from Rome's ancient heart to Laterano to Piazza di Spagna to Trastevere. Travel Essentials provides information on how to get to the city and how to get around, as well as hand-picked hotels and restaurants. Each itinerary includes the following features: Distinctly Rome: Explore the city through 2-page features that showcase the quintessential aspects of the city, such as Renaissance Architecture, the popes through history, and Roman baths. Here you'll get intriguing background information to help you understand why this city is one of the world's greatest. Best of: Specific thematic groupings of sights are described, such as coffee and cafes, street markets, and gelato shops. In-depth: These spreads take a deep dive into a major museum or other sight--the Colosseum, Palazzo Barberini, and Galleria Borghese, for example--providing step-by-step guidance on what to see and how to plan your visit. Sidebars throughout give you the low down on shopping, eating, and going out on the town, and offer insider tips and interesting asides.
Whether you're looking for the most beautiful churches, the greatest walks and itineraries, or the best shops and markets, DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Top 10 Rome will lead you straight to the very best this city has to offer. The fully updated, pocket-size guide is divided by area with restaurant reviews for each, as well as recommendations for hotels, bars and places to shop. Rely on dozens of Top 10 lists, from the things not to miss at the Top 10 sights to the Top 10 museums, activities for children, and events and festivals. There's even a list of the Top 10 things to avoid. Plus, DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Top 10 Rome includes a pull-out street map with public transportation information, useful phone numbers, and 60 great ideas on how to spend a day in Rome. You'll find the insider knowledge you need to explore this city with DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Top 10 Rome and its pull-out map.
Washed by three different seas, its history more than 2,000 years old, the beautiful island of Sicily beckons with archaeological ruins, magnificent architecture, including two of the world's best preserved Greek temples and baroque palaces, marvelous sea and landscapes, artworks spanning multiple civilizations, and the dominating presence of Mount Etna. Guided by Sicily expert Tim Jepson, this guidebook presents the best of Sicily, taking you first to Palermo, Sicily's teeming capital, with its fabulous Regional Archaeological Museum. Then you explore Northwestern Sicily, influenced by a mix of colonizing civilizations, including the Phoenicians, Greeks, and Arabs, whose cultures still thrive. Highlights here include the ruins of Segesta, Selinunte, Solunto, and Mozia, as well as the medieval towns of Cefalu and Erice. In Southwestern Sicily, near North Africa, rugged cliffs and barren plateaus set the scene for Greek temples and Roman villas. Mount Etna dominates Southern Sicily, where towns built by ancient Greeks, including Syracuse, live on. In Northeastern Sicily lava flows have shaped the land, and you can visit the volcano's very edge. Here, too, Catania thrives as Sicily's second largest city, while beautifully sited Taormina is Sicily's most famous tourist resort, and little fishing villages such as Aci Trezza and beaches in the Aeolian Islands also provide a respite from sightseeing. Special features include driving and walking tours; detailed features on history, culture, and contemporary life; and 3-D illustrations. The guide also includes an in-depth chapter describing Sicily's history and culture, and a detailed section of practical information, including how to get around Sicily, an extensive listing of handpicked hotels and restaurants, and select activities and entertainment options. The 2012 edition has been completely revised and updated, with new features including experiential sidebars, insider tips, and an overview of how best to plan a visit.
Packed with the same reliable information and breathtaking color photography as our DK Eyewitness Travel Guides, DK Eyewitness Travel Top 10 Guides are fully illustrated, pocket-sized travel guides, with handy pull-out maps marking all the major sights.