It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Study Abroad and International Travel: International Travel
Provides over 6,500 definitions of travel and tourism terminology, including the operating language of the travel industry, acronyms of organizations, associations, and trade bodies, IT terms, and brand names. Completely up to date, this dictionary covers the implications of web technology and social media on the travel and tourism industry, as well as new products and services, such as e-tickets, home-based travel agents, awareness amongst consumers and within the industry of terror-threatened travel, recent changes in legislation, and environmental concerns.
For many, the joy of travel is often an authentic, immersive experience of the local culture. Here, National Geographic's insider tips offer a unique look at the places and activities around the world that captivate the residents--from regional festivals, undiscovered local restaurants, and lesser-known art galleries, to quiet places to sit and watch another world stroll by. A bonus chapter features in-depth experiences in the top 15 greatest cities. This book goes beyond Internet basics to ensure rewarding and memorable travel for those who crave a deeper understanding of a country and its people. When in Rome, they say, do as the Romans do. Discover the soul of a place through a chance encounter, a kind word, or an unparalleled tip from a local. In Where the Locals Go, you'll find hundreds of authentic, beautifully photographed travel experiences, complemented with nuggets of entertaining and insightful text informed by locals. Now, you, too, can join the locals in Venice on their evening passeggiata; mingle with the crowds at sunset on Juhu Beach in Mumbai; sample some of France's best cheeses in the Alpine town of Annecy; and walk the ancient peak-to-peak pilgrimage on Japan's Kunisaki Peninsula. This book will inspire you to make your next trip a truly authentic travel experience.
From business trip planning to study abroad programming, Travel Wise offers readers the skills needed to cope with and prepare for the unknown. While country-specific information can be helpful, it is cultural competence and clear understanding of personal tolerance for risk that will make a journey successful. Learn to stay safe, savvy, and secure with Ray S. Leki’s advice.
Maintain peace of mind while you are working or living abroad--wherever and however you travel. As an international traveler, you know there are risks. But are you doing everything you can to protect yourself and your belongings? Before your next trip, benefit from these time-tested strategies for proactively managing travel risks.
Leading travel expert andnbsp;USA Todaynbsp;columnist Christopher Elliott shares the smartest ways to travel in this tip-filled guide from National Geographic. Drawing on more than 20 years of experience as a consumer travel advocate, Elliott gives you the inside scoop on how to navigate the often perplexing world of travel, with detailed advice on: Airlines; car rentals; cruises; hotels and alternative lodging; the TSA and security; staying connected; review websites; resolving complaints; vacation rentals; passports and visas; and much more Full of recommendations, real-life case histories, and the answers to the most common--and confounding--questions, this book is a must-read for anyone traveling anywhere.
Not another collection of checklists or tips on coupons or promotions, this practical guide teaches travelers — novice or seasoned — how to take advantage of travel opportunities by avoiding the typical tourist mentality. Author Tim Leffel shows readers how to bypass the traps that drive up expenses and find the best value, whether as a young backpacker or a wealthy retiree. Drawing on his own extensive experience (including three yearlong trips around the globe as well as his experience as an industry insider), the author also covers what steps to take and what resources to use to save money on travel and how to travel better — or more often — on a smaller budget. A dozen other notable travel writers and subject matter experts contribute sidebars on specific ways to save.
Health risks are real and ever-changing, especially while traveling abroad. To stay abreast of the most up-to-date health recommendations, experienced travelers and health care professionals have always relied on CDC's user-friendly Health Information for International Travel (commonly knownas the The Yellow Book) as their one indispensable guide.
This book covers all the main health risks to travelers, both during their journey and at the destinations. It describes the relevant infectious diseases, including causative agents, modes of transmission, clinical features, geographical distribution and prophylactic and preventive measures. New and revised contents in this edition include: * a new chapter on psychological health * a country list with updated malaria and yellow fever information * a revised section on rabies * more precise and updated maps This book is designed for medical and public health professionals who advise travellers, but it is also a standard reference for travel agents, airlines, shipping companies and travellers themselves.
Traveling and photography is a perfect match, but photographers are often disappointed that their images fail to meet the quality of their artistic aspirations. This book combines theoretical information, practical advice, and helpful suggestions for taking better pictures while traveling, whether you are on a local trip, enjoying your annual summer vacation or exploring a more exotic, remote destination. This book includes descriptions for how to carefully compose photos, avoid common mistakes, and achieve a unique perception of places that have been photographed many times before. Beautifully illustrated with photographs from all over the world, this guide will help you find your personal point of view, which will lead to exceptional travel photos.
Author Haje Jan Kamps knows that you are travelling for two good reasons: to experience great things, and to get great photos of your travels. He also understands very well how people's eyes tend to glaze over when phrases like "Circles of Confusion" or the "Inverse Square Law" are brandished about, and focuses instead on great photographs, and how to take them. A realistic and easy-to-follow approach to travel photography puts the fun back into photography, and by following a series of simple exercises, you'll learn much more about photography than you would have thought possible! Focus on Travel Photography covers the basics of photography in brief before throwing itself into the real essence of travel photography: landscapes, people, and capturing the spirit of your destination. Finally, the author explores how you can download, edit, and distribute your photos while you're on the move-all without being over-burdened with equipment.
This superb practical guide to travel photography combines the best of all worlds: convenient size, comprehensive coverage, and useful, straightforward advice from the experts of National Geographic Traveler, the highest circulation magazine in its field. It’s the perfect "how-to" for anyone seeking to master the veteran photographer’s trademark skills: a strong sense of place; a swift, decisive eye; and a sure instinct for the dramatic scene. Be it a weekend escape or far-flung adventure, every occasion promises the chance for a great photograph. Whether you’re after that once-in-a-lifetime shot or just want a vivid travelogue to share with friends, The Ultimate Field Guide to Travel Photography will help you achieve your goals. It explores such key genres of photography as panoramas, portraits, and creating a narrative in photographs. Always, the focus is on engaging your subject and working--often quickly--to get the best shots. Chapters cover everything from inspiration and research to the practicalities of purchasing the right equipment. Practical information including checklists, essential contents of a camera bag, and other helpful resources are listed in the back. Designed especially for active travelers, the book fits easily in a backpack or pocket for handy access.