Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources (OERs)

Everything you need to know about OERs.

OER Sites

The sites listed below offer OERs that are produced and published by that specific company/organization. 


2012 Book Archive logo

2012 Book Archive

This is not the website for the original publisher. Instead, this is an archive of Creative Commons-licensed copies of books which were available online from a specific publisher at the end of 2012. The collection includes open entry-level college textbooks.

[CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 license, see Attribution page]

 

 

 

Khan Academy logo

Khan Academy

An extensive library of content, including interactive challenges, assessments, and videos.

[CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US license, see Terms of Use]

 

Knowledge Unlatched logo

 Knowledge Unlatched

 

The Knowledge Unlatched model depends on many libraries from around the world sharing the payment of a single Title Fee to a publisher, in return for a book being made available on a Creative Commons license via OAPEN and HathiTrust as a fully downloadable PDF.

Open Course Library logo

Open Course Library

A collection of expertly developed educational materials – including textbooks, syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments – in 81 high-enrollment college courses.

[CC BY 3.0 license, see FAQ page]

 

openstax logo

Open Stax College

Provides professional-quality textbooks that are free online and low-cost in print. Books are peer-reviewed and backed by top-of-the-line supporting materials and are customizable. 

[CC BY 3.0 license, see Terms of Use]

 

saylor.org logo

Saylor

Over 300 free, self-paced, online courses with organized OER materials into a structured and intuitive format. 

[CC BY 3.0 license, see FAQ]

 

TEDEd logo

TED-Ed

Within TED-Ed’s growing library of lessons, you will find carefully curated educational videos, many of which represent collaborations between talented educators and animators nominated through the TED-Ed platform. 

[CC BY-NC-ND 3.0 license, see Usage Policy]

 

The Open University logo

The Open University

Promotes educational opportunity and social justice by providing high-quality university education through academic research, pedagogic innovation and collaborative partnerships. 

[CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 UK license on some content, see Conditions of Use]

Wikibooks logo

Wikibooks

Wikibooks is an open content collection of non-fiction books (especially textbooks) that anyone can edit.

[CC BY-SA 3.0 license, see Terms of Use]