Doctors and Distillers by
"At last, a definitive guide to the medicinal origins of every bottle behind the bar! This is the cocktail book of the year, if not the decade." --Amy Stewart, author of The Drunken Botanist and Wicked Plants "A fascinating book that makes a brilliant historical case for what I've been saying all along: alcohol is good for you...okay maybe it's not technically good for you, but [English] shows that through most of human history, it's sure beat the heck out of water." --Alton Brown, creator of Good Eats Beer-based wound care, deworming with wine, whiskey for snakebites, and medicinal mixers to defeat malaria, scurvy, and plague: how today's tipples were the tonics of old. Alcohol and Medicine have an inextricably intertwined history, with innovations in each altering the path of the other. The story stretches back to ancient times, when beer and wine were used to provide nutrition and hydration, and were employed as solvents for healing botanicals. Over time, alchemists distilled elixirs designed to cure all diseases, monastic apothecaries developed mystical botanical liqueurs, traveling physicians concocted dubious intoxicating nostrums, and the drinks we're familiar with today began to take form. In turn, scientists studied fermentation and formed the germ theory of disease, and developed an understanding of elemental gases and anesthetics. Modern cocktails like the Old-Fashioned, Gimlet, and Gin and Tonic were born as delicious remedies for diseases and discomforts. In Doctors and Distillers, cocktails and spirits expert Camper English reveals how and why the contents of our medicine and liquor cabinets were, until surprisingly recently, one and the same.
Florida's Best Herbs and Spices by
Florida's warm climate provides residents with the opportunity to raise herbs and spices from around the globe. This book introduces gardeners to 89 herbs and spices suited to cultivation in Florida. Each plant is covered in a detailed profile, which includes illustrations, growing techniques, climate requirements, and distribution maps. Unique tropical plants such as vanilla, pandanus, and curryleaf grow in southern portions of the state. By making minor adjustments, the Florida gardener can raise nearly any popular northern herb, such as parsley and basil. You will find herbs and spices, both native and exotic, suitable for planting in every region of Florida. Find familiar plants along with those that are rare or obscure. Discover a unique mix of scents, flavors, textures, and colors. Growing your own herbs and spices will bring plants into your garden that look and smell good as well as providing fresh, interesting, and chemical-free tastes for your cooking. You can also save money as you add flavor. We at Pineapple Press are confident that this book, like its companion volume, Florida's Best Fruiting Plants, will be regarded as a gardening classic.
Florida's Best Fruiting Plants by
A comprehensive guide to fruit-bearing plants that thrive in the Florida environment. Discusses exotics and native species, familiar plants and dozens of rare and obscure plants.
The New Vegetables, Herbs and Fruit by
Praise for the previous edition: "These three amazing authors have put together a must-have book for any vegetable grower." -- Washington Gardener "What is not included in this definitive and beautifully illustrated sourcebook on edible landscape?" -- The American Herb Association "Satisfying ... There's an abundance of information and tantalizing pictures." -- The New York Times The first edition of Vegetables, Herbs and Fruit was published in 2006. All editions and formats sold more than one million copies and it quickly became a classic reference. A decade later, this edition adds a new jacket, updates the design, and expands by 60 new pages for a total of over 70 vegetables, 100 herbs and 100 popular fruits. The most current information on plant varieties and cultivation techniques make it the essential sourcebook for all food gardeners, especially for anyone who would like to start growing organic produce, and who feels they need some expert advice. The coverage is phenomenal -- from the care of asparagus through the seasons to the huge number of apples that can be grown in even the smallest spaces. Lavish illustrations in an accessible layout, and clear and accurate text applicable to all regions invite readers to browse and try growing something new. The listings open with a large photograph of the plant and a description. The topics include: species and common names; recommended varieties; cultivation techniques (propagation, growing, maintenance); container growing; harvesting and storing; pests and diseases; companion planting; medicinal uses; culinary uses, with recipes; and other uses and warnings. Additional images show other parts of the plant during the seasons, as well as recipe photographs.
The American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Plants and Flowers by
Combining the authority of the AHS with the visual expertise of DK, this full-color gardening reference is the definitive guide for gardeners. Simply the definitive full-color reference to the horticulture of North America, AHS Encyclopedia of Plants & Flowers contains more than 8,000 plant profiles, over 4,250 photographs, and practical advice on everything from cultivation, pests, and diseases, to plant selection and identification
The Cultural History of Plants by
This valuable reference will be useful for both scholars and general readers. It is both botanical and cultural, describing the role of plant in social life, regional customs, the arts, natural and covers all aspects of plant cultivation and migration and covers all aspects of plant cultivation and migration. The text includes an explanation of plant names and a list of general references on the history of useful plants.
The Herb Society of America New Encyclopedia of Herbs and Their Uses by
The most comprehensive illustrated encyclopedia of herbs yet produced. With a fresh, new A-Z format for easy reference, it lists the culinary and medicinal properties of each herb alongside all the information readers need to cultivate herbs in their own garden. 1,500 illustrations.
World Spice Plants by
Despite their long tradition spices are subject to international modern scientific research. This has made it necessary to disseminate knowledge to a large audience of interest. The book addresses this need by informing the reader about the complex worldwide use of spice plants. The many spice and aromatic plants are arranged in alphabetical order of their botanical relevance. It includes all species which have been cultivated for the above purposes. It also covers species whose usage has long ceased or which are used only rarely or have become wild. In this respect the author has aimed at comprehensiveness. In total over 1400 plants have been collated. The very extensive register of literature has been designed to facilitate intensive study of a specific plant or spice. Works both on botany and agriculture, and on chemistry, pharmacodynamics and usage have been considered. The book is aimed principally at spice and aroma experts, pharmacists, botanists and interested lay persons. But the author also had in mind food chemists, dieticians and agricultural scientists, for whom botany, chemistry and pharmacological aspects may be of interest. It is hoped that those occupied in the spice and aroma industry involved in creating spice blends and the like will also take inspiration from the book.
The Oxford Companion to Food by
"the best food reference work ever to appear in the English language ... read it and be dazzled"Bee Wilson, New StatesmanFirst published in 1999, the ground-breaking Oxford Companion to Food was an immediate success and won prizes and accolades around the world. Its blend of serious food history, culinary expertise, and entertaining serendipity, was and remains unique.Interest in food, cooking, and the culture surrounding food has grown enormously in the intervening period, as has the study of food and food history. University departments, international societies, and academic journals have sprung up dedicated to exploring the meaning of food in the daily livesof people around the world, alongside an ever-increasing number of articles, books, programmes, and websites in the general media devoted to the discussion of food, making the Oxford Companion to Food more relevant than ever.Already a food writing classic, this Companion combines an exhaustive catalogue of foods, be they biscuits named after battles, divas or revolutionaries; body parts (from nose to tail, toe to cerebellum); or breads from the steppes of Asia or the well-built ovens of the Mediterranean; with a richlyallusive commentary on the culture of food, expressed in literature and cookery books, or as dishes peculiar to a country or community.While building on the Companion's existing strengths, Tom Jaine has taken the opportunity to update the text and alert readers to new perspectives in food studies. There is new coverage of attitudes to food consumption, production and perception, such as food and genetics, food and sociology, andobesity. New entries include terms such as convenience foods, drugs and food, Ethiopia, leftovers, medicine and food, pasta, and many more. There are also new entries on important personalities who are of special significance within the world of food, among them Clarence Birdseye, Henri Nestle, andLouis Pasteur.In its new edition the Companion maintains its place as the foremost food reference resource for study and home use.
The World Book Encyclopedia by
- More than 27,500 rich photographs and illustrations and comprehensive, highly readable text appeal to a broad range of readers. - More than 3,800 expert contributors collaborate with our editors and researchers to ensure that articles are accurate and reflect current scholarship. - World Book revision rates make it the most current and up-to-date encyclopedia available. - More than 65 new and 3,000 revised articles. - Highlighting the 2008 edition are new and expanded articles on electronic games, Google, Inc., George Clooney, and Maria Sharapova, among many others.
Lives of the Trees by
Diana Wells, author of 100 Flowers and How They Got Their Names now turns her attention to something bigger--our deep-rooted relationship with trees. As she investigates the names and meanings of trees, telling their legends and lore, she reminds us of just how innately bound we are to these protectors of our planet. Since the human race began, we have depended on them for food, shade, shelter and fuel, not to mention furniture, musical instruments, medicine utensils and more. Wells has a remarkable ability to dig up the curious and the captivating: At one time, a worm found in a hazelnut prognosticated ill fortune. Rowan trees were planted in churchyards to prevent the dead from rising from their graves. Greek arrows were soaked in deadly yew, and Shakespeare's witches in Macbeth used "Gall of goat and slips of Yew" to make their lethal brew. One bristlecone pine, at about 4,700 years old, is thought to be the oldest living plant on earth. All this and more can be found in the beautifully illustrated pages (themselves born of birch bark!) of 100 Trees.