This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Juveniles Tried As Adults" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/tried_as_adult Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Homicide—in adolescence
  • Juvenile Homicide
  • Juvenile Justice
  • Tried as Adults
  • Juvenile Delinquency - Prevention
  • Trials of Juveniles in Adult Courts
  • Teenage Violence and Crime

 

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
 

Definition

"As many as 200,000 youths charged with crimes today are tried in adult courts, where judges tend to be tougher and punishments harsher — including sentencing to adult prisons."  CQ Researcher, "Juvenile Justice" 2008. 

 

Narrow the topic

  • Does trying juveniles as adults help reduce crime?
  • Should juveniles convicted as murderers receive the same punishment as adults?
  • Is “blended sentencing” a possible solution to the problem?
  • Are juveniles who are put through the adult penal system more or less likely to repeat crimes?
  • What is the impact when juveniles are imprisoned with adults?
  • Should juveniles be held to the same level of accountability as adults?
  • Are minority youths more disproportionately affected by these laws than white youths?
  • Does locking up juveniles for life constitute cruel and unusual punishment?
  • Can adolescents understand the gravity of their crimes?
  •  Should there be an age limit as to how young a child can be to be tried as an adult?
  • Should juveniles be subject to the death penalty?
  • Should juveniles be tried proportionate to the severity of the crime?
  • Should intent for juvenile crimes be taken into account?

 

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Criminal Justice - edited by Phyllis B. Gerstenfeld
Call Number: REF KF9214.5.C75 2006 v.2
ISBN: 1587652188

Cover Art
Florida Law: A Layman's Guide - Keane, Gerald B.
Call Number: REF KFF81 .K4 2007
ISBN: 1561643955

Cover Art
Should Juveniles Be Tried As Adults? - Christine Watkins, editor
Call Number: Reference Desk REF KF9812 .S55 2008
ISBN: 0737740779

 
 

Statistics

 

ABC News

Contact Information

Profile Image
Judi Tidwell
Contact Info
17-114
954-201-6489
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip