This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "SWEATSHOPS/CHILD LABOR" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SWEATSHOPS/CHILD LABOR  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/sweatshops Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

Child Labor: "Work done by persons under the age eighteen that is harmful to them for being abusive, exploitive, hazardous or otherwise contrary to their best interests."

(International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, REF H40.A2 I5 2008)

Sweatshop: "The term is used to describe factories where workers toil under hazardous conditions for illegal subminimum wages. These workers are frequently held captive by their employers and often verbally and physically abused by supervisors."

(The Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics, HF5387.O95 2010)

 

Keywords

Bonded Labor

Child Labor

Child Labor and Capitalism

Child Labor and Developing Countries

Child Labor and Globalization

Child Labor and Legislation

Child Labor and Workplace Safety

Children's Rights

Factory Worker

Garment Factory

Labor Standards

Multinational Corporations

Sweatshop(s) 

 

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

UNICEF TV: Report on Child Labor

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

What is the relationship between child labor and sweatshops?

Is there a link between multinational corporations and child labor?

Does the current global economy encourage or discourage the use of child labor?

What type of industries use child labor or sweatshops?

What type of illegal businesses use child labor?

What social and financial pressures encourage the practice of child labor?

How was child labor used in the past?

What is the legislative history of child labor in the U.S.?

What is the Children's Bureau and what impact did this agency have on child labor?

What are the federal or state guidelines allowing a person under the age of 18 to work?

What are the rights of employees?

What responsibility do businesses/employers have to their employees?

How can consumers influence the business practices of companies?

 

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of U.S. labor and working-class history - Eric Arnesen
Call Number: REF HD8066 .A78 2006 3vol.

Cover Art
International encyclopedia of the social sciences - William A. Darity, Jr.
Call Number: REF H40.A2 I5 2008 9vol.

Cover Art
The world of child labor :an historical and regional survey - Hugh D. Hindman
Call Number: REF HD6231 .W67 2009

 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles

Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip