Definition
Surrogacy (biological or full): "A woman is artificially inseminated with a man's sperm of the commissioning couple and turns the baby over at birth to the genetic father. The surrogate is the biological and gestational mother." (Reproductive Issues in America, REF RG133.5.M47 2003)
Surrogacy (gestational or host): "A woman carries to term an embryo produced by in vitro fertilization from the com-missioning couple and turns the baby over at birth to the genetic parents." (Reproductive Issues in America, REF RG133.5.M47 2003)
Keywords
Artificial Insemination
Bioethics
Human Reproduction
Infertility
In Vitro Fertilization
Reproductive Medicine
Reproductive Rights
Reproductive Technology
Surrogacy
Surrogate
Surrogate Motherhood
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Google It
Narrow the topic
What is the difference between commercial surrogacy and altruistic surrogacy?
What is the legislative history of surrogacy in the U.S.?
Is surrogacy legal in all 50 states?
How are the laws governing surrogacy different state to state?
What are the legal rights of the couple/individual seeking a surrogate mother?
What are the legal rights of the surrogate mother?
What was the outcome of the "Baby M" case and how did it impact laws regulating surrogacy?
How did the Johnson v. Calvert case impact the legal rights of surrogates?
Which countries have the highest rate of births by a surrogate mother?
How has globalization affected surrogacy?
Does surrogacy exploit women from lower socioeconomic backgrounds?
What is the emotional/psychological impact on surrogate mothers?
What impact does surrogacy have on the child's identity?
Reference Books
Books from the Catalog
Finding Articles
Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Need Help? Ask us!
| Library Hours Research Consultation |
|
| 954.201.6653 954.201.6223 |
|
| refucl@broward.edu | |
| Ask-a-Librarian |
Updated on: 07/15/2011
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.

![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
