Definition
“The term suicide refers to the death of a person that is the result of behaviour undertaken by that person in the knowledge or expectation of that result." Social Science Encyclopedia
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Statistics
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: http://www.cdc.gov/violenceprevention/suicide/statistics/index.html
Information Plus: Death & Dying; Ref Desk (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Database)
Statistical Abstract of the United .States Ref Desk http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: Office of Applied Studies: http://oas.samhsa.gov/suicide.cfm
Google It
Narrow the topic
· Is suicide an individual right?
· How can suicide be prevented?
· What are the causes of teen suicide?
· Should physicians assist terminally ill patients in suicide?
· Discuss suicide of a particular group: women, gay youth, African Americans, etc.
· Discuss the link between depression and suicide.
· Is there a link between antidepressants or other prescription drugs and suicide?
· Are schools, colleges, or universities doing enough to prevent suicide?
· How can the military battle the epidemic of suicide?
· Have economic conditions affected the suicide rate?
· What can be done to combat suicide bombings?
· Discuss the link between bullying and suicide?
· How can "suicide by cop" or "suicide by train" be combatted?
Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of Abortion in the United States

Call Number: REF HQ767.5.U5 P35 2009 - Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion

Call Number: REF BL65.P7 E53 2007 - Encyclopedia of Human Development

Call Number: REF HM 626 .E53 2006 - Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society

Call Number: REF HT 1521 .E63 2008 - Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics

Call Number: REF Q 175.35 .E53 2005
Finding Articles
Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Need Help? Ask us!
| Library Hours Research Consultation |
|
| 954.201.6653 954.201.6223 |
|
| refucl@broward.edu | |
| Ask-a-Librarian |
Updated on: 07/15/2011
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
