This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "SUDDEN INFANT DEATH" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SUDDEN INFANT DEATH  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/sudden_infant_death Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

SIDS: "The sudden death of an infant less than one year of age that cannot be explained after a thorough investigation is conducted."

(Quick Reference To Child and Adolescent Forensics, RA1053 .B763 2010)

SUID: "Infant deaths that occur suddenly and unexpectedly, and whose manner and cause of death are not immediately obvious prior to investigation."

(Quick Reference To Child and Adolescent Forensics, RA1053 .B763 2010)

 

Keywords

Crib Death

Safe Sleep

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS)

Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SUID)

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

How is SIDS/SUID diagnosed?

What are the risk factors for SIDS?

What type of research has been conducted on SIDS and SUID?

Is there a relationship between sleep environment and SIDS?

What preventative measures help to reduce the risk of SIDS occurring?

Is there a link between ethnicity and SIDS?

What is the relationship between SIDS and child abuse?

What is the current rate of SIDS in the U.S.?

 

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Current diagnosis & treatment :Pediatrics
Call Number: REF RJ1 .K45 2007

Cover Art
Quick reference to child and adolescent forensics :a guide for nurses and other health care professionals - Mary E. Muscari, Kathleen M. Brown
Call Number: REF RA1053 .B763 2010

Cover Art
The encyclopedia of children's health and wellness - Carol Turkington and Albert Tzeel
Call Number: REF RJ45 .T9465 2004 2vol./ Electronic Resource
Format: Print and eBook

Cover Art
The Gale encyclopedia of children's health :infancy through adolescence - Kristine Krapp and Jeffrey Wilson
Call Number: REF RJ26 .G35 2005 4vol.

 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles

Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip