This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Stress" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Stress  

Last Updated: Apr 29, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/stress Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

Stress is the response of the body and mind to strains or burdens that deman adaptation; it is any hindrance that disturbs an individual's mental and physical well-being. These interferences may range from random nuisances to life threatening situations.

(Encyclopedia of stress and stress-related diseases, 2006)

 

Keywords

Stress

Stress Management

Stress Prevention

Emotional Stress

Job Stress

Burnout

Type A Behavior

Anxiety

Stress disorders, Post-traumatic

 

Narrow the topic

In what ways can stress affect one’s health?

How can one prevent or cope with stress?

What are companies doing to reduce stress in the workplace?

What are some of the various stress disorders?

Does stress cause depression?

Are drugs overprescribed for stress disorders?

What are some effective relaxation techniques used to manage stress?

Has the military's response to post-traumatic stress disorder been sufficient to help currently enlisted soldiers and veterans?

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Salem Health psychology & mental health
Call Number: REF BF636 .P86 2010


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of trauma and traumatic stress disorders
Call Number: REF BF175.5.P75 D63 2010

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of stress and stress-related diseases
Call Number: REF QP82.2.S8 K34 2006

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of stress
Call Number: REF QP82.2.S8 E53 2007

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip