This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED DISEASES (STDs)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED DISEASES (STDs)  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/std Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

"A group of different diseases that can be passed from one person to another through sexual contact."

(Sexually Transmitted Diseases Sourcebook RC200.2.S387 2009)

 

Keywords

 

  • Sexual Transmitted Disease STD(s)
  • Sexually Transmitted Infection STI
  • Venereal Disease
  • Bacterial STD
  • Viral STD
  • Safe Sex
  • Sexual Health
  • Sexual Behavior

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

Which segment(s) of the U.S. population is most effected by STDs and why?

What types of treatment methods are available for patients with STDs?

How do STDs affect fertility and infant mortality?

What impact do government policies have on STD transmission and treatment?

Do prevention initiatives help to stop the spread of STDs?

How does social stigma effect prevention and treatment of STDs?

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of sexually transmitted diseases - Elaine A. Moore with Lisa Marie Moore
Call Number: REF RC200.1 .M66 2005

Cover Art
The encyclopedia of sexually transmitted diseases - Jennifer Shoquist & Diane Stafford
Call Number: REF RC200.1 .S525 2004

Cover Art
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's principles and practice of infectious diseases - Gerald L. Mandell, John E. Bennett & Raphael Dolin
Call Number: REF RC111 .P78 2000 2v

 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles
Search Full text databases. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip