Reparations: "The idea of making amends for a wrong that has been committed."
(Reparations for Slavery E185.89. R45 C37 2008)
Slavery Reparations: "The idea that African Americans are owed reparations for their ancestors' labor as slaves."
(Encyclopedia of African American History E185. E544 2010)
- Racial reparations
- Reparations for historical injustices
- Slavery reparations
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple keyword search, please use the search box below.
Note: To access eBooks, you have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 08/25/14, DT.
How did early efforts of slave reparations take shape?
What is the legislative history of slave reparations?
Who are the activists past and present that campaigned for reparations?
How would slave reparation recipients be determined?
How should slave reparations be distributed?
When have reparations been given in the past?
How have past reparations been distributed?
Do reparations help atone for past wrongs?
Encyclopedia of African American history
Call Number: REF E185 .E544 2010
Encyclopedia of African American history, 1896 to the present :from the age of segregation to the twenty-first century
Call Number: REF E185 .E5453 2009
The African American encyclopedia
Call Number: REF E185 .A253 2001
Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. It includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- America's News (NewsBank)
America's News from NewsBank provides diverse source types, which include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos - all in one easy-to-search database. Each source provides unique coverage, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
- Issues & Controversies (Facts on File)
Issues & Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
- Subject Specific Databases
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their
research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This
page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works
Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009
In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009.
- Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSU
Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.