This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Second-hand Smoke" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Apr 26, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/secondhandsmoke Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

"According to the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), environmental tobacco smoke (ETS), which is also referred to as second-hand smoke, is a mixture of the smoke emanating from the burning end of a cigarette, pipe, or cigar, and the smoke exhaled from the lungs of smokers."

(Encyclopedia of Public Health, 2002)

 

Keywords

Smoking--Environmental aspects

Smoking--Health aspects

Nicotine use

Environmental tobacco smoke

Tobacco use

Passive smoking

Tobacco smoke pollution

 

Narrow the topic

What are the health effects of secondhand smoke on non-smokers?

Should there be a total ban on smoking at the workplace and in public buildings?

Do bans on smoking infringe on the rights of smokers?

Does secondhand smoke contain harmful chemicals and toxins?

Should colleges and universities ban smoking from campus?

How has the government stepped in to deal with the issue of secondhand smoke?

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Reference Books

Tobacco: a reference handbook
Call Number: REF HV5735 .C67 2001

Encyclopedia of public health
Call Number: REF RA423.E53 2002

Health issues
Call Number: REF RA425 .H39 2001

Encyclopedia of global health
Call Number: REF RA441 .E53 2008

Encyclopedia of smoking and tobacco
Call Number: REF HV5760 .H57 1999

Encyclopedia of cancer and society
Call Number: REF RC254.5 .E48 2007

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip