This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Pornography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pornography  

Last Updated: Aug 4, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/pornography Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Pornography
  • Erotica
  • Obscenity (law)
  • Internet pornography
  • Internet and children
  • Sexting
  • Child pornography
  • Sex-oriented businesses
  • Sex crimes
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

"Materials (such as writings, photographs or movies) depicting sexual activity or erotic behavior in a way that is designed to arouse sexual excitement. Pornography is protected speech under the First Amendment unless it is determined to be legally obscene."  Black's Law Dictionary

 

Narrow the topic

  • What are the legal distinctions between the terms erotic, obscene and pornographic?

  • How has technology affected pornography?

  • Does banning pornography impact the right to free speech?

  • Does exposure to pornography affect sexual behavior? Is it addictive?

  • Is pornography itself an act of violence against women?

  • Does violent pornography increase masculine acceptance of aggression against women?

  • Can morality be legislated? Do censorship laws create crimes without victims?

  • Should pornography on the Internet be regulated?

  • Compare feminist views on pornography.

  • Should "virtual" child pornography be legal? Do adult bookstores create crime? Is there a link between pornography and child molesting?

  • Should filtering software be installed on all public library computers?

  • Is a teenager sexting another teenager delivering child pornography?

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of psychology and law
Call Number: REF K346 .E53

Cover Art
Oxford encyclopedia of the modern world
Call Number: REF D205 .O94 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American civil rights & liberties
Call Number: REF KF4748 .E53 2006

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of business ethics and society
Call Number: REF HF 5387 .E53 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of police science
Call Number: REF HV 7901 .E53 2007


Cover Art
Child: an encyclopedic companion
Call Number: REF HQ767.84 .C55 2009
"Pornography, child"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of children, adolescents, and the media
Call Number: REF HQ784.M3 E53 2007
"Child Pornography," "Pornography"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of white-collar & corporate crime
Call Number: REF HV6768 .E63 2005

Cover Art
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Call Number: REF HQ1121 .O93 2008

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Linger
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip