This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Plagiarism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Plagiarism  

Last Updated: Aug 17, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/plagiarism Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Plagiarism
  • Copyright infringement
  • Cheating
  • Intellectual property
  • Science publishing -- Moral and ethical aspects

 

 

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

"Copying another person's original work and passing it off as one's own." Facts on File Dictionary of Education

 

Narrow the topic

    • What is the appropriate penalty for plagiarism at the college level?
    • How should students be taught about plagiarism, at what level, and by whom?
    • Discuss plagiarism in the press, the scientific community, or in government.
    • Discuss the advantages and problems with term paper checking software.
    • Would additional legislation help curtail term paper mills?
    • How can teachers combat plagiarism?
    • Is plagiarism widespread among writers?
    • What additional precautions can journals, newspapers, and other forms of media take to combat plagiarism?
    • Have tools like Turnitin.com helped catch plagiarism?
    • What effect has the Internet had on plagiarism?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
MLA handbook for writers of research papers.
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2009
Reference Desk

Cover Art
Black's Law Dictionary
Call Number: REF KF156 .B53 2009
Reference Desk

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of education law
Call Number: REF KF4117 .E53 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of science, technology, and ethics
Call Number: REF Q175.35 .E53 2005
"Plagiarism" "Misconduct in Science"

Cover Art
Florida Statutes
Call Number: REF KFF29 .F56
XLVI FL Chap. 877.17 (Reference Desk)

Cover Art
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association.
Call Number: REF BF76.7 .P83
Reference Desk

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Linger
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip