Keywords
- Nursing Homes
- Elder Care
- Older People - Care
- Caregivers
- Geriatrics
- Health Services for the Aged
- Aged - United States
- Assisted Living
- Older People - Housing
- Long Term Care Facilities
Senior Housing Referral
Definition
"Facilities providing care for elderly persons too ill or disabled to live independently but are not ill enough to require hospitalization. Nursing homes are also known as "extended-care" or "subacute care" facilities. Although subject to both state and federal regulations, the quality of care in nursing homes varies widely. Reports of both insurance fraud and patient abuse have been widespread, leading the patients and their families to push for additional reforms." Encyclopedia of Social Issues
Narrow the topic
-
What is elder abuse? How can we prevent it?
-
Can you describe the differences and similarities between Nursing Homes and Assisted Living Facilities?
-
More people living longer, yet they often require care, what alternate solutions are available beyond Nursing Homes?
-
Compare the way Americans take care of their elderly to the customs of another country
-
Is it better for the elderly to live at home with relatives?
-
Nursing Home residents are assured basic rights under Florida Law. What are those rghts?
-
Should Nursing Home laws be revised?
-
What is guardianship?
-
At what point is a Nursing Home the right answer for an elderly relative? Should family make that decision for the aged person?
E-Books
Empowering Frail Elderly People : Opportunities and Impediments in Housing, Health, and Support Service Delivery - Leonard F. Heumann, Mary E. McCall, and Duncan P. Boldy, editors
Call Number: [electronic resource] 2001
ISBN: 0275966518
It Shouldn't Be This Way: The Failure of Long-term Care - Kane, Robert L. and West, Joan C,
Call Number: [electronic book] 2005
ISBN: 082651488X
Nursing Homes & Assisted Living Facilities : Your Practical Guide for Making the Right Decision - Connell, Linda H.
Call Number: [electronic resource] 2004
ISBN: 1417554932
Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Health & Aging - Kyriakos S. Markides, editor
Call Number: REF RA777.6 .E534 2007
ISBN: 141290949X
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management - Michael J. Stahl, editor
Call Number: REF RA971 .E52 2004
ISBN: 0761926747
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
Contact Information |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Cite Your Sources
This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- Citation MachineForms for creating MLA and APA citations using information from your sources
![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)







Loading...
