Keywords
- United States Military Policy
- Nuclear Weapons
- Military Policy
- Nuclear Nonproliferation
- Nuclear Disarmament
- Hydrogen Bomb
- Arms Race
- Cold War
- Atom Bomb
1960 Nuclear Weapons
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.
Google It
Definition
"An explosive device that uses radioactive materials as the primary fuel for explosion.... At least nince countries are known or believed to possess nuclear weapons: China, France, India, Israel, North Korea, Pakistan, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States. South Africa is believed to have had nuclear weapons but to have destroyed them prior to its transition from an apartheid regime. As of 2006, the total world stockpile of nuclear weapons is estimated to be approximately 27,000." - Historical Dictionary of Nuclear, Biological and Chemical Warfare 2007.
Narrow the topic
-
Does having nuclear weapons make the United States safer?
-
Is nuclear annihilation a serious threat?
-
What right does the United States have to control the nuclear weapon development of other countries?
-
Does having nuclear weapons make India more of a threat to the safety of the United States? North Korea? Iran?
-
Is nuclear weapon proliferation a serious problem?
-
Should the United States attack countries suspected of building nuclear weapons in order to prevent them from success?
-
Is missile defense a true defense? Is any political body controlled by nuclear threat?
-
What happens when everyone knows no one will use them, do nuclear weapons lose their threat/safety potential?
-
Is it time for complete, global, nuclear disarmament? Who will begin the process?
-
How are nuclear weapons tested? Explain what that means in terms of fall-out and poisons.
-
Where was nuclear weaponry first developed? How did it snowball into a global race for arms?
E-Books
Reference Books
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
Contact Information |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Cite Your Sources
This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.






Loading...
