This is the "Home" page of the "Near Death Experiences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Near Death Experiences   Tags: life_after_death, ndes, near_death_experience, pathfinder, thanatology  

NDEs
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/ndes Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Near-death experiences
  • Hallucinations
  • Parapsychology
  • Delusional disorders
  • Future Life
  • Death - Psychological Aspects
  • Thanatology

 

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.

 

BBC Documentary

Part 5 of 6 part series on Near Death Experiences produced by BBC in 2002.

Parts 1-6 available on YouTube

Google It




 

Definition

 "Near-death experiences, once regarded as meaningless hallucinations, have become the subject of serious study by medical and other researchers.  These experiences are reported by individuals who have been pronounced clinically dead but then resuscitated, and by individuals who actually died but were able to describe their experiences in their final moments.  Among the experiences are a sense of movement through a dark tunnel, meeting spiritual beings, meeting a being of light and others." (Concise Encyclopedia of  Psychology)

 

Narrow the topic

  •    What is the relationship between anesthesia and NDEs?

  •    What is the significance of NDEs in children?

  •    How have people been transformed after NDEs? 

  •    What are the common elements of NDEs?

  •    Are NDEs visions of the afterlife?

  •    Should NDEs be studied as a serious science?

  •    How are the experiences of coma patients similar to Near Death Experiences?

  •    What is the relationship between NDE and reincarnation?

  •    Discuss the possible physiological, neurochemical, or psychological explanations/causes of NDEs

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Is There Life After Death? - Rebecca K. O'Connor, editor
Call Number: REF BL535 .I8 2005
ISBN: 0737724064

Cover Art
Oxford Companion to the Mind - Richard L. Gregory, editor
Call Number: REF BF31 .O94 1987
ISBN: 019866124X

Cover Art
Paranormal Phenomena - Karen Miller, editor
Call Number: REF BF1031 .P3317 2008
ISBN: 0737740086

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of death and the human experience
Call Number: REF HQ1073 .E544 2009

 
 

Near Death Experience Types

A near-death experience, or NDE, is a common pattern of events that many persons experience when they are seriously ill or come close to death. Although NDEs vary from one person to another, they often include such features as the following:

  • feeling very comfortable and free of pain
  • a sensation of leaving the body, sometimes being able to see the physical body while floating above it
  • the mind functioning more clearly and more rapidly than usual
  • a sensation of being drawn into a tunnel or darkness
  • a brilliant light, sometimes at the end of the tunnel
  • a sense of overwhelming peace, well-being, or absolute, unconditional love
  • a sense of having access to unlimited knowledge
  • a "life review," or recall of important events in the past
  • a preview of future events yet to come
  • encounters with deceased loved ones, or with other beings that may be identified as religious figures
  •  

    (courtesy of Division of Perceptual Studies, within the School of Medicine at University of Virginia)

    Suggested Databases

    • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
        
      CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
    • Issues and Controversies  
        
      Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
    • Opposing Viewpoints  
        
      Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
    • Academic Search Complete  
        
      Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
    • America's Newspapers  
        
      America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
    • Subject Specific Databases

    Contact Information

    Profile Image
    Judi Tidwell
    Contact Info
    17-114
    954-201-6489
    Send Email
     

    Login Required

    [BC Library Card]

    The library databases can be accessed from outside the library/off-campus using your BC ID#. Your pin# is the last four digits of your social security number. If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

    Cite Your Sources

    Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

    • MLA Update 2009
      In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
      These changes go into effect in April 2009.
    • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
      From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
    • Citation Builder - NCSU
      Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
    • KnightCite - Calvin College
      KnightCite is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in citing communication and multimedia resources.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip