Keywords
- Nature and Nurture
- Intellect
- Intelligence Levels
- Intelligence Tests
- Genetics
- Genotype
- Heredity
- Genotype-Environment Interaction
Nature vs. Nurture
Health Central Network (1/1/2004)
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Google It
Definition
"Controversial issue concerning the relative importance of heredity (called nature) versus environment (called nurture) in the development of normal and abnormal behavior." (Dictionary of Behavioral Science)
Narrow the topic
-
Can the traits we are born with be influenced by the environment we live in?
-
Does intelligence depend on genetics?
-
What role do prenatal factors play in human development?
-
Do nutrition, mental stimulation, and opportunities to learn impact intelligence and behavior?
-
Is poverty a function of inherited low intelligence?
-
What is social engineering? Can it be used to alter class and race discrepancies?
-
What impact has sociobiology had on the nature/nurture (heridity/environment) debate?
-
Compare the beliefs of cultural relativists and evolutionary biologists.
-
Is criminal behavior determined by genes?
-
Is sexuality determined by genes?
-
Is there a gay gene or is homosexuality caused by social forces?
-
Could the results of genetic research contribute to genetic discrimination?
Reference Books
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- PsycArticlesThe database contains more than 45,000 articles from 57 journals - 46 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations.
- Social Sciences Full TextSocial Sciences indexes periodicals in the fields of sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
Contact Information |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.




![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
