This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Migrant Workers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Migrant Workers  

Last Updated: Jun 29, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/migrant_workers Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

"The term migrant labor is used to refer to people who enter the United States, legally or illegally, as temporary or seasonal workers, typically in agriculture or in semiskilled or unskilled industry.” (Minority Rights in America)

 

Narrow the topic

  • Compare the situation of migrant workers in Florida with those in California.
  • How can the barriers to healthcare for migrant workers be addressed?

  • Compare the plight of migrant workers in the United States with migrant workers in another country

  • Are Florida farm worker abuse laws too lenient?

  • Does slavery still exist in America?

  • How can human traffickers be stopped?

  • Can the children of migrant workers receive adequate education?

  • Do migrant workers take American's jobs?

  • How has the global recession endangered migrant workers?

  • Has the United Nations' International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families of 1991changed migrant workers' conditions?

  • How might immigration reform accommodate the need for migrant workers?

 

Reference Books


Cover Art
Oxford encyclopedia of the modern world
Call Number: REF D 205 .O94


Cover Art
Refugees: opposing viewpoints
Call Number: Reference Desk REF JV6346.R4 R424 2010
(also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Database)

Cover Art
Culture wars: an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Call Number: REF HN90.M6 U85 2010
"Migrant Labor"

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

How can I help you?

Profile Image
Suzette Spencer
Contact Info
Reference/Instruction Coordinator
University/College Library at Broward College
Central Campus
Davie, FL 33314
(954) 201-6484
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip