This is the "Home" page of the "Juvenile Justice System" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Juvenile Justice System  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/juvenile_justice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Juvenile Crime
  • Juvenile Corrections
  • Juvenile Justice
  • Juvenile Offenders
  • Juvenile Delinquents
  • Youth Crime
 

Video

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

"The collective institutions through which a youthful offender passes until any charges have been disposed of or the assessed punishment has been concluded. The system comprising juvenile courts (judges and lawyers), law enforcement (police) and corrections (probation officers and social workers)." - Black's Law Dictionary 2004

 

Narrow the Topic

  • Are boot camps an effective means of dealing with juvenile crime?
  • Does the juvenile justice system discriminate against minorities?
  • Should parents be held accountable for the criminal acts of their children?
  • Should juvenile court services be abolished?
  • Should juvenile correctional facilities be privatized?
  • What role should the federal government play in reducing juvenile crime?
  • What are the alternatives to institutional confinement of juvenile offenders?
  • Should the juvenile justice system serve to punish or rehabilitate juvenile offenders?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Should Juveniles Be Tried As Adults? - Christine Watkins, editor
Call Number: REF KF9812 .S55 2008
ISBN: 0737740779

Cover Art
Alternatives to Prison - Jennifer Skancke, editor
Call Number: REF HV9304 .A647 2005
ISBN: 0737726938

Cover Art
Juvenile Crime: Opposing Viewpoints - Andrea C. Nakaya, editor
Call Number: REF HV9104 .J834 2005
ISBN: 0737729457

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Contact Information

Profile Image
Judi Tidwell
Contact Info
17-114
954-201-6489
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip