Definition
File Sharing is the "Sharing of files over a network or between several applications running on the same workstation." Dictionary of Networking 3rd ed. Peer-to-Peer (P2P)
Network is "A lan [local area network] in which drives, files and printers on each PC can be available to every other PC on the network, eliminating the need for dedicated file servers." Dictionary of Networking 3rd ed.
Keywords
- Intellectual property
- Peer-to-peer architecture (Computer networks)
- Music trade--United States
- Copyright
- Copyright and electronic data processing
- Internet
- Software Sharing
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Identity Theft
European Commissioner for Telecom and Media Viviane Reding on Thursday delivered the 2009 Ludwig Erhard lecture at the Lisbon Council in Brussels.
Suggested Websites
- Recording Industry of America"It’s commonly known as piracy, but it’s a too benign term that doesn’t even begin to adequately describe the toll that music theft takes on the many artists, songwriters, musicians, record label employees and others whose hard work and great talent make music possible"
- Respect Copyright"You have many choices when it comes to purchasing and viewing your favorite movies and TV shows online. But with so many options out there, getting the real thing can often be confusing".
- Electronic Frontier Foundation"You'd like to move the tracks you bought from Rhapsody to a personal stereo like Apple's iPod, but the copy protection prevents you. Creating or using the software necessary to make the switch could put you behind bars".
- Define the Line"Stealing or pirating commercial software is getting out of control on college campuses. Students may think using the term “sharing software” makes it all right, but it doesn’t. Reality check: it’s “stealing software.”
- Motion Picture Association of America"Copyright laws protect the rights of people who create film, TV shows and other intellectual property. In the case of film and television, these laws help safeguard the livelihoods of the 2.5 million Americans who work as set painters, costume designers, make-up artists, writers, actors, directors and much more"
Google It
Narrow the topic
-
Has file sharing harmed the recording industry, motion picture industry, computer game industry, computer software industry, recording artist, software programmers, and others?
-
Discuss the issues surrounding cable companies and internet service providers and universities turning over the names of those sharing files?
-
Discuss the failure of copyright protection on software and compact discs.
-
Compare file sharing with cassette tape / videotape recording.
-
Is file swapping theft?
-
Can a case be made in favor of file swapping?
-
Should copyright laws be changed?
Reference Books




Finding Articles
Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Need Help? Ask us!
| Library Hours Research Consultation |
|
| 954.201.6653 954.201.6223 |
|
| refucl@broward.edu | |
| Ask-a-Librarian |
Updated on: 07/15/2011
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
