"Trafficking involves the movement of persons to exploit their labor. Trafficking in persons is a form of slavery and encompasses debt bondage, peonage, and involuntary servitude. Historically, trafficking of women and children was associated with the capture of young women and girls for forced prostitution." (Encyclopedia of Prostitution and Sex Work, 2006)
- Human trafficking
- Sex trafficking
- Child sex tourism
- Human exploitation
- Modern day slavery
- Trafficking of humans
- Sex slavery
- Child prostitution
Search for books, ebooks, articles and streaming media in the University/College Library.
For a simple keyword search, please use the search box below.
Note: To access eBooks, you have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 08/25/14, DT.
- Forced Labour
We follow a personal story of one girl from Moldova who was tricked into being a sex slave in western Europe
- Sex Slavery and Human Trafficking (2007)
round 400,000 women are trafficked into this country every year and forced to work as sex slaves. 'Journey' is a public installation created to expose the stages of suffering experienced by these women and to raise the public profile of their situation
- Under the River: Exploited Children of Ghana
In Ghana, children as young as three and as old as sixteen are often sent away from home to work in bondage for small payments, desperately needed by impoverished families. Some are given away by aunts, uncles, grandparents, or by their own overburdened mothers who will have one less mouth to feed and the equivalent of $40 (U.S.) each year.
These databases provide journal articles and other references related to a specific subject.
- What are some types of trafficking?
- What factors contribute to human trafficking?
- What is the impact of human trafficking in the United States?
- Which ethnic populations are most prone to trafficking?
- Should the United Nations enforce sanctions on countries with lenient trafficking regulations?
- What is the difference between human trafficking and smuggling?
- How does the trafficking of women and children contribute to sex tourism?
- Has much changed to combat trafficking since the enactment of The Victims of Trafficking and Violence Protection Act of 2000?
From Human Trafficking to Human Rights
Publication Date: 2011-11-16
From Human Trafficking to Human Rights, Brysk, Choi-Fitzpatrick, and a cast of experts demonstrate that it is time to recognize human trafficking as more a matter of human rights and social justice, rooted in larger structural issues relating to the global economy, human security, U.S. foreign policy, and labor and gender relations.
Sex Slaves and Serfs
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Erin Heil explores the global problem of human trafficking in the context of a small Florida town¿one typical of the many rural communities that confront modern day slavery in their own backyards.
Child Exploitation and Trafficking
Publication Date: 2011-12-16
The book provides comprehensive, practical introduction to the history and present-day reality of child sexual exploitation, as well as to the interconnected web of domestic and transnational federal laws and law enforcement efforts launched in response thereto.
Call Number: HQ281 .H832 2013 )
Publication Date: 2013-07-12
The Current Controversies series examines today's most important social and political issues. Each volume presents a diverse selection of primary sounds representing all sides of the debate in question.
A Child's Right to a Healthy Environment
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
It's a startling reality that more American children are victims - and perpetrators - of violence than those of any other developed country. Yet unlike the other nations, the United States has yet to ratify the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child.
Trafficking and Prostitution Reconsidered, Second Edition
Call Number: HQ281 .T618 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Since the highly acclaimed 2005 publication of the first edition of Trafficking and Prostitution Reconsidered, human trafficking has become virtually a household word and attention for the issue among researchers and policymakers has escalated. This new edition adds vitally important updates related to recent developments in law, policy, and international agreements as well as from new research. It looks more closely at narratives about sex trafficking and the growing interest amongst feminists, abolitionists, criminologists and legal experts, as well at new ways for developing action research projects with migrant women around the world. New to the Second Edition
- Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. It includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- America's News (NewsBank)
America's News from NewsBank provides diverse source types, which include printed and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts and videos - all in one easy-to-search database. Each source provides unique coverage, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press)
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
- Issues & Controversies (Facts on File)
Issues & Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society (ABC-CLIO)
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society provides historical background and contemporary status of the most significant social issues and includes supporting facts, figures, and timelines.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social issues.
- Subject Specific Databases
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their
research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This
page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works
Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
EasyBib helps you through the entire research writing process - from searching for information, citing sources, taking notes, outlining the paper, and finally to writing the paper itself. Click on "Sign Up" to register and get all the features. You need to be ON CAMPUS when you register.
- Citation Builder - NCSU
Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
- MLA Update 2009
In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009.
- Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University