This is the "Home" page of the "Gun Control" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Apr 22, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/gun_control Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

"In its broadest sense, the term "gun control" refers to any government policies that influence the availability and use of firearms among the general public or distinct subsets of the population - such as minors, convicted felons, and the mentally ill."  Guns in American Society : An Encyclopedia of History, Politics, Culture and the Law 2002

 

Keywords

  • Bear Arms
  • Bill of Rights
  • Brady Bill
  • Domestic Terrorism
  • Firearms
  • Gun Ownership
  • Gun Violence
  • Handgun(s)
  • School Shootings
  • United States Second Constitutional Amendment

 

 

Pro-Gun Control

 

Con-Gun Control

NRA - On the United Nations and International Gun Control
March 4, 2009
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrowing Topic

  • Is the United State’s gun-centered culture responsible for mass shootings?
  • Will outlawing handguns make the United States any safer?
  • Globally gun control laws are very strict and gun crime is very low - should the United States consider what works for other countries?
  • Can you support the argument that gun control does not reduce violent crime?
  • Should the Second Amendment be adjusted for the times? Do you think our forefathers meant we had the right to bear assault rifles?
  • Is an individual's right to bear arms more important than the safety of the general public?
  • Do gun shows promote the use of guns? Should cities ban gun shows?
  • How has the Brady Handgun Violence Protection Act of 1994 affected gun laws?
  • Should gun rights be controlled by the States or the Federal Government?
  • Explain "Smart Gun" technology and the pros/cons of making it a mandatory feature.
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Guns and Violence - Debra Miller, editor
Call Number: REF HV7436 .G87746 2009
ISBN: 0737743204
Reference Desk (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center database)

Cover Art
Is gun ownership a right?
Call Number: REF KF3941 .I8 2010
Reference Desk (also available in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center database)

Cover Art
Gun control: a documentary and reference guide
Call Number: REF KF3941 .S678 2009

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence
Call Number: REF HM1121 .E57 2008

Cover Art
Culture wars: an encyclopedia of issues, viewpoints, and voices
Call Number: REF HN90.M6 U85 2010
"Gun Control," "National Rifle Association"

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip