Keywords
- Mural painting
- Politics in art
- Street art
- Tagging
- Vandlism
Graffiti as Art
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Graffiti as Vandalism
Definition
"From the stylus of Pompeii to the spray paint on New York subway cars, graffiti tell us something about ourselves. Graffiti represent man's desire to communicate. When written, his feelings - hopes, desires, fears - give him a certain satisfaction. Perhaps the wall becomes his therapist. On its surface he hurls his hostilities, expresses his fantasies, communicates his triumphs, vents his frustrations, proclaims his rebellion, declares his propaganda." - Robert Reisner Encyclopedia of Graffiti
Narrowing the Topic
- What made Jean-Michel Basquiat's street art museum worthy?
- Explore the use of graffiti through time as expression of politics.
- Is graffiti a juvenile crime or an art form for the masses?
- Consider the uses of graffiti - gang tags, hate crimes, freedom of expression, art.
- Look at the global presence of graffiti - how does the graffiti in Ireland compare to New York? Or Japan?
- When is graffiti a crime and when is it art?
- Should a youth's parents be held responsible for the costs of graffiti cleanup?
- What different 'canvases' are used by graffiti artisits?
- Is a public building public domain?
Reference Books
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Recommended Websites
- Art CrimesCelebration of street art worldwide
- Graffiti HurtsCosts and consequences of graffiti vandalism sponsored by Krylon
- Wooster CollectiveStreet and installation artists
- PDF :Town of Davie Florida ordinance against graffiti"Whereas, the Town of Davie finds itself in a situation where portions of the Town are consistently
targeted and are marked by graffiti, creating blight to a portion of the Town of Davie"
Contact Information |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.



![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
