This is the "GLBT Civil Rights" page of the "Gay Lesbian Bisexual and Transgender Issues" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gay Lesbian Bisexual and Transgender Issues   Tags: adoption, bisexual, gay_adoption, gay_marriage, gay_military, gay_rights, glbt, human_rights, lesbian, marriage, military, pathfinders, transgender  

Basic human rights for GLBT Americans.
Last Updated: Feb 7, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/glbt Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

GLBT Civil Rights Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Bisexual
  • Civil Rights
  • Gay Equality
  • Gay Liberation Movement
  • Gay Rights
  • Gays
  • Gender Pluralisms
  • Homosexuality - Political Aspects 
  • Human Rights
  • Lesbian Rights
  • Lesbianism
  • Queer Activism
  • Sex and Law
  • Sexual Minorities
  • Transgender Rights
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.

 

President Obama to HRC

President Obama addresses Human Rights Campaign

 October 10, 2009

Google It




 

Video

 

Definition

"...the creation of a society in which lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people and people with HIV/AIDS enjoy the basic rights of equality, privacy and personal autonomy, and freedom of expression and association. This means an America where people can live openly without discrimination; where there’s respect for our identities, relationships and families; and where there’s fair treatment in employment, schools, housing, public places, health care and government programs."
-Mission Statement of the ACLU LGBT & AIDS Project (2009)

 

Narrow the topic

  • How important was the Stonewall Riot?
  • Image versus types and sterotypes.
  • Homosexuality has occurred throughout history, why is it still such a debated issue?
  • What are the roots of homophobia?
  • Should civil rights be equal to human rights?
  • What are the social and cultural issues of allowing equal rights for homosexuals?
  • What gives one person the right to decide over another person's life and legal rights based on who they love?
  • Equal rights and justice for all?
  • Should homophobic politicans and clergy who are gay or bisexual be outed?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Gay Rights - Rachel Kranz and Tim Cusick
Call Number: REF HQ76.8.U5 K73 2005
ISBN: 0816058105

Cover Art
Gay Rights Movement - Jennifer Smith, editor
Call Number: REF HQ76.8.U5 G359 2003
ISBN: 0737711582


Cover Art
Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide
Call Number: REF HQ76 .G724 2010
Also available as an e-book

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.

Contact Information

Profile Image
Judi Tidwell
Contact Info
17-114
954-201-6489
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip