Keywords
- DNA fingerprinting
- DNA profiling
- Evidence, expert
- Forensic genetics
- Genetic engineering- social aspects
- Genetic screening
- Medical jurisprudence
- Molecular markers
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Genetic Fingerprinting
Britannica Online
Feb. 7, 2007
Google It
Definition
"DNA Fingerprinting - An informal term used to describe the combined set of a person's DNA types at the loci that are typed. Currently, this would refer to the 13 genetic loci typed for the CODIS system"
"CODIS (Combined DNA Indexing System) - A national program coordinated by the FBI that assists state and local labs in establishing DNA databases from unsolved crimes, missing persons, and convicted offenders."
- Facts on File Dictionary of Forensic Science (2004)
Narrowing the topic
Is genetic fingerprinting an invasion of privacy?
Should everyone arrested be genetically fingerprinted?
Should everyone be genetically fingerprinted?
Does DNA testing make it easier or harder to get convictions?
How has DNA testing affected convicted prisoners?
Do police have the right to trick suspects into giving DNA samples?
E-Books
Reference Books
Suggested Databases
- Biological and Agricultural Index PlusBiological & Agricultural Index plus offers researchers convenient online access to the core literature of biology and agriculture.
- General Science eCollectionThis database provides information on all aspects of the science field and contain full text articles from over 200 periodicals related to scientific topics. It is a subset of Academic OneFile.
- JSTORJSTOR provides access to the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterOpposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more concerning social iss
Contact Information |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.


![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
