This is the "Home" page of the "Gangs" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gangs   Tags: gangs, pathfinder, street_gangs  

Street Gangs, a global issue
Last Updated: May 25, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/gangs Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Teen/Adolescent/Juvenile/Youth Gangs
  • Prison Gangs
  • Motorcycle Gangs
  • Girls in Gangs
  • Drug Gangs
  • Gangs and Crime
  • Gang Violence
  • Gangsta
  • Cliques/Crews/Posses/Taggers
  • Yakusa (Japanese Gangsters)
  • Thugs
  • Racist/Extremist Gangs
  • Gang Recruitment
  • Juvenile Delinquency
  •  

    Finding Books

    Books
    Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


    eBooks
    eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

    Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

     

    Video

     

    Documentary

    L.A. Gang Wars
    Documentary on South Central Los Angeles Gangs
    National Geographic
    July 17, 2008
     

    Definition

    "Gangs are groups of people—mostly young males—who band together for protection and a sense of belonging. Gangs are often associated with violence and crime...Some local agencies deny the existence of gangs, while others do not clearly distinguish between criminal organizations and groups of rowdy teenagers. In some cases, no clear distinction can be made because there are no specific traits that clearly identify a group as a gang. Gangs can range in size from half a dozen friends to multi-state organizations with tens of thousands of members."

    - Gangs. Current Issues: Macmillan Social Science Library. 2003

     

    Narrowing the Topic

    • What is the difference between Organized Crime and Street Gangs? How are they similar?
    • Gangsters are not unique to the United States, compare the global societies that have similar problems with gangs.
    • What is the advantage to being in a gang? Are there some gangs that are beneficial to society?
    • How could/should organizations go about discouraging the formation of gangs?
    • How successful have curfews been in controlling gangs?
    • How does the glorified 'gansta' lifestyle as portrayed in film and music have an influence on the formation and running of street gangs?
     

    E-Books

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Gangs - Louis Kontos and David C. Brotherton, editors
    Call Number: [electronic resource] 2008
    ISBN: 9780313334023

    Cover Art
    Policing Gangs in America - Katz, Charles M. and Vincent J. Webb
    Call Number: [electronic resource] 2006
    ISBN: 9780521851107

    Cover Art
    Street Gang Patterns and Policies - Klein, Malcolm W. and Cheryl L. Maxson
    Call Number: [electronic resource] 2006
    ISBN: 9780195163445

    Cover Art
    Violent and Non-Violent Disputes Involving Gang Youth - Hughes, Lorine A.
    Call Number: [electronic resource] 2005
    ISBN: 9781593320980

     
     

    Reference Books

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of Gangs - Louis Kontos, editor
    Call Number: REF HV6439.U5 E53 2008
    ISBN: 0313334021


    Cover Art
    Gangs: A Reference Handbook - Kinnear, Karen L
    Call Number: REF HV6439.U7 K55 2009
    ISBN: 1598841254

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence - Claire M. Renzetti, editor
    Call Number: REF HM1121 .E57 2008
    ISBN: 1412918006

     

    Suggested Databases

    Need journal articles? Just click link and the search begins

    • America's Newspapers  
        
      Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
    • CQ Researcher
      explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles
    • Issues and Controversies
      offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
    • Opposing Viewpoints
      brings together all the information that’s needed to fully understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles, 140 full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, includi

    Contact Information

    Profile Image
    Judi Tidwell
    Contact Info
    17-114
    954-201-6489
    Send Email
     

    Login Required

    [BC Library Card]

    To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

    Cite Your Sources

    Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

    • MLA Update 2009
      In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
      These changes go into effect in April 2009.
    • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
      From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
    • Citation Builder - NCSU
      Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip