This is the "Home" page of the "Game Addiction" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Video Games and America's Youth
Last Updated: Aug 23, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/game_addiction Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Video Games - Social Aspects
  • Video Games - Psychological Aspects
  • Video Game Addiction
  • Video Games and Teenagers
  • Gaming
  • Computer Games

 

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: If you are outside the U/C Library, you will have to login with your BC ID# and your PIN# is the last 4-digits of your social security number.

 

Video

CNN                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         Andrew Salmon for CNN reports on a South Korean couple who claim video game addiction for their neglect and ultimate death of their daughter. (April 2, 2010)

 

Definition

"A common argument against the playing of computer games is that it is addictive. Computer game addiction consists of compulsive involvement in the game, a lack of interest in other activities, and physical or mental symptoms when attempting to stop playing (eg. restlessness or aggression)." - Encyclopedia of Communication and Information 2002

 

 

Narrow the topic

  • How does video game addiction affect obesity?
  • How many hours of constant play constitutes addiction?
  • Do video games help with hand/eye coordination?
  • Do online games provide greater socialization opportunities for otherwise awkward, antisocial people?
  • Are certain kinds of games more harmful to be addicted to than others? (Grand Theft Auto vs. Legend of Zelda)
  • Can video games benefit classroom education?
  • What's the difference between addiction and addictive? Can some level of obsession have greater benefits than harm?
  • Is the time spent playing video games a waste?
  • Are video games geared towards a particular gender or race?
  • Do video game ratings actually affect the decision to purchase? Should video games be more regulated by the government?
  • Are violent video games responsible for increased violent actions of teenagers?
  • How are online video games related to social network games? (World of Warcraft vs. Uno)
 

Reference Books


Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Addictions - Hollen, Kathryn
Call Number: REF RC 563.4.H65 2009
ISBN: 0313347379

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Contact Information

Profile Image
Judi Tidwell
Contact Info
17-114
954-201-6489
Send Email

Cite Your Sources

 This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

The library databases can be accessed from outside the library/off-campus using your BC ID#. Your pin# is the last four digits of your social security number. If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip