This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Gambling" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gambling   Tags: addictive_behavior, gambling, pathfinder  

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/gambling Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Gambling
  • Casinos
  • Lotteries
  • Bingo
  • Horse Racing—Betting
  • Pari-mutuel betting
  • Gambling Industry
  • Compulsive gambling
  • Gambling on Indian reservations
  • Internet gambling
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Gambling in the news

CNN                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              CNN's Anderson Cooper and his panel discuss Sen. Harry Reid's push of a gambling bill during this congressional session. (February 7, 2011)

Google It

Add site:.gov or site:.edu  to your google search to limit to government or education websites.




 

Definition

“To play or game, for money or other stake; to stake money or other thing of value on an uncertain event.  It involves, not only chance, but a hope of gaining something beyond the amount played.” (Black’s Law Dictionary)

 

Narrow the topic

  • How should Florida resolve the issue of funding education with lottery funds?

  • What should be done about Internet gambling?

  • Do casinos benefit local economies?

  • What effects have casinos had in different cities?

  • What is the relationship between gambling and crime?

  • What effect has gambling had on Indian tribes?

  • Is video gambling harmful?

  • Is compulsive gambling a disease?

  • Discuss the Canadian lawsuit alleging that video lottery terminals create and feed gambling addictions?

  • Should sports gambling be legalized?

  • Should slot machines be installed in Florida pari-mutuel facilities?

  • Is dog and horse racing cruel to animals?

 

E-Books

You will need to log-in with your Borrower ID (Student ID) and your PIN (last four digits of your social security number) in order to read these books online.

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Gambling - David Haugen and Susan Musser, editors
Call Number: REF HV6715.G284 2007
ISBN: 0737733527


Cover Art
Legalized Gambling - Haugen, David
Call Number: REF HV6715.H385 2006
ISBN: 0816060541

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Contact Information

Profile Image
Judi Tidwell
Contact Info
17-114
954-201-6489
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip