This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Equal Pay" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Jun 10, 2009 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/equal_pay Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Equal pay for equal work
  • Pay equity
  • Equal Pay Act of 1963
  • Affirmative action
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Definition

The phrase equal pay refers to "the right in law for men and women to receive the same remuneration as a member of the opposite sex in the same employment who is engaged in similar work, work rated as equivalent under a common job evaluation procedure, or work which is of equal value."

(A Dictionary of Human Resource Management, 2008)

 

Narrowing the topic

  • On average, do men receive more pay than women?
  • Are salaries equal for men and women who hold jobs of equal standing and skill requirements?
  • Do minorities receive less pay than their Anglo counterparts?
  • Are heterosexuals inclined to be paid more than homosexuals?
  • Is the older population entering into the workforce receiving equal pay as their younger counterparts?
  •  What is the Equal Pay Act of 1963?
  • Does Affirmative Action guarantee salary equity?
 

Books Available at the Reference Desk

Current Controversies: "Wage Gap"
Call Number: REF HD4975 .W29 2008

Opposing Viewpoints: "Discrimination"
Call Number: REF JC599.U5 D56 2008

Opposing Viewpoints: "Working Women"
Call Number: REF HQ759.48 .W675 2008

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: REF 202.S73

Women in American society
Call Number: REF HQ 1402.W652 2008

 
 

Sources shelved in the Reference Collection

Encyclopedia of American women in business "Compensation"
Call Number: REF HD 6054.4 .U6 K753 2005

Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor "Comparable Worth"
Call Number: REF HD 6066 .H57 2004

Work in America :an encyclopedia of history, policy, and society "Comparable Worth" "Equal Pay Act"
Call Number: REF HD8066 .W637 2003, v.2

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Contact Us:

Profile Image
Reference Department
Contact Info
3501 SW Davie Road, Bldg.17
Davie, FL 33314
954.201.6653 or 6223
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip