Skip to main content

Ebooks: All About eBooks

Describe ebook collections and explain how patrons can interact with each.

Policies for Downloadable eBook Collections

 

 

EBSCO

Ebook Central – entire book

Ebook Central pdf – chapter or page range

SpringerLink

Checkout length

7 day maximum – user decides

0, 7, or 14 days, depending on license for individual title

PDFs do not expire; 60 page limit

PDFs do not expire. Download by chapter or entire book.

Holds

Yes

Has real-time "waiting list" for busy titles

N/A

N/A

Renewals

No

No

N/A

N/A

Number of checkouts you can have at one time

3

You can full-download the same book again and again, once you return it or it expires.

No limit

N/A

Devices

-Apple (iOS) Devices, such as iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch

-Android Devices, such as smartphones and tablets

-Sony eReader Touch Edition

-Nook

-Kindle: PDFs can be created in the eBook Full Text view and transferred using Send to Kindle.

-All eBook Readers supporting the Adobe eBook DRM

Minimum Browser Requirements for EBSCO Interfaces.

Simply select your device in the first step:

 

- Laptop / Desktop

 

-Apple (iOS) Devices: 

 iPhone, iPad, and iPod.

 

-Android Devices:

Smartphone and tablet

All devices that can read PDF

All devices that can read PDF.


 

 

Mobile Apps

In order to download EBSCO eBooks, you must have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer.  You will also need to use Adobe Digital Editions to transfer an eBook to a supported portable eReader device.

 

 

 

Authenticating the eBooks App.   Learn how to authenticate the eBooks App with your Adobe ID and find your library. Tutorial.

Using the eBooks App. Learn how to use the App to search for eBooks and download them to your device. Tutorial.

The EBSCO eBooks App is available for:

1. From a Laptop or Desktop:

-If you’re using a laptop or desktop, you need Adobe Digital Editions, a free program that is different than Adobe Reader.

-A free Adobe ID is also required to transfer the eBook to another device, but not if you’re just reading it on the same computer. 

2. Download to Mobile Devices: 

On iOS and Android devices, you need Bluefire Reader, which is free from the App Store and Google Play. You need an Adobe ID to use Bluefire Reader.

 

 

Chapter Downloads allow you to download a chapter, page range, or single page as a PDF.

 

Chapter Downloads are available from Chapter Results.

 

The PDFs are searchable and selectable, include a citation and do not expire.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SpringerLink App:

(Work in progress)

 

-iTunes


-Google Play

 

 

Mobile Apps (continued)

The EBSCO eBooks mobile App. 

Now available for Broward College! (since Oct. 2015)

-Download the EBSCO eBooks App. 

 

 

 

 

 

-Select country and state.

 

 

 

 

 

-Scroll down to find Broward College

 

 

 

 

-Use your student or staff ID Card.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Number of users accessing book

No access when someone has title checked out. Generally one user at a time when title is available.

Sometimes unlimited; sometimes one; varies by title

N/A

Unlimited

Searching and Reading - Help

EBSCO eBooks Basics. Includes EBSCO eBooks requirements and eBook viewer.

 

Reading EBSCO eBooks - Tutorial

 

Searching for eBooks. Tutorial.

Book Details.  Example of an Ebook Central Detail Page.

Ebook Central Reader. Table of Contents and Reader Navigation Tips.

Ebook Central Bookshelf. Functionality, Export Notes, Share Link to Book, Copy To, and Remove.

Book Annotations. Highlights, Notes and Bookmarks.

Searching in Ebook Central.

Search Results and Advanced Searching.

 

Search Tips: Narrowing your results, start a new search, operators, and more.

Downloading help                

Downloading an eBooks. Tutorial.

 

                                      

Ebook Central Full Download.  Here is an example of a full title download in Adobe Digital Editions.

Full Download: Troubleshooting Bluefire issues    

Ebook Central Chapter Download.  

Here is an example of a Chapter Download.

Just click on PDF link!

Full book download feature

Widgets            

An EBSCO search widget is available from

A Research Resources: Research Resources LibGuide page.

 

 

An Ebook Central search widget is available from

A Research Resources: Research Resources LibGuide page.

 

 

 

eBook Collection Subject Areas

Database Title

Suggested Disciplines

eBooks  online

eBooks can be downloaded

eBooks can be checked out

Single user or multiple user

Title count (estimates)

ABC-CLIO eBooks

All disciplines – strong in social sciences

 

 

Multiple users

3,160

APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 6th ed.

Citation styles.

Access to this guide is available for students, faculty, and staff through RefWorks.

 

Access to this document is also available for current Broward College students.

 

1

Ebook Central (replaces ebrary)

All disciplines

Varies – mostly multiple users

48,000

eBook Collection by EBSCO

All disciplines

 √

Single user

 

32,880

eDuke Books Scholarly Collection Humanities and Social Sciences

Users can print, read online, or download PDFs by chapter.

 

Multiple users

 

2,370

Gale Virtual Reference Library

All disciplines

By article (html or pdf)

 

Multiple users

2,513

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

Performing Arts

 

 

Multiple users

10

Infobase eBooks

eBook Platform Updates

Literature

 

 

Multiple users

590

JSTOR

-Open Access eBooks

-eBooks-FLVC (August 2017)

Art
Business
Education
Arts & Humanities
General (Multi-Disciplinary)
Literature & Book Reviews
Social Sciences
Sciences

 

Multiple users

 

2000

106

Latino Literature

Literature

 

 

Multiple users

1,151

Oxford English Dictionary

All disciplines

 

 

Multiple users

1

Project MUSE Social Sciences and multidisciplinary.

        √    

Book chapters are available in PDF format.      1,220

PubMed

 

PubMed Help. Quick Start Guide.

 

Bookshelf Help. Quick Start Guide.

Health care, medicine, neuroscience, chemicals and drugs.

To access the PubMed eBook collection, go to 'Bookshelf', then select ‘Books’ from the drop-down menu. Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

 

Entire eBook (pdf).

By chapter (html).

HTML5-based book viewer.

  Multiple users 4,640

Safari  Books Online

News and Updates, Accessing and Organizing Content

Business, Technology, and Personal Development

 

 

Up to six simultaneous users

20,000

Salem Online

Careers
Health & Medicine
History
Literature & Book Reviews
Environmental Science
Criminal Justice
Sciences
 

 

 

Multiple users

 

SpringerLink

All sciences, health and medicine, engineering, business, mathematics, social sciences

Downloaded titles can be kept forever.

Multiple users

80,578

 

Testing & Education Resource Center

College prep and career test guides.

First time users must create a personal account; it's used to track your learning progress.

 

 

Multiple users

60

World Book

Literature, public domain

By chapter (html)

 

Multiple users

2,300

World Folklore and Folklife

Folklore, religion, traditional arts, tales, myths, and urban legends, music and dance.

               Multiple users            105       

eBook Collections at your Library!

Below is a list of eBook collections available through the U/C Library. When logging in, please use your Borrower ID number (student ID or employee ID) and your two-digit month and two-digit day of your birthdate (MMDD).