This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Drinking Age" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Drinking Age  

Last Updated: Jan 12, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/drinkingage Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Video

 

Keywords

  • Drinking age and law
  • Drinking age
  • Drinking and traffic accidents
  • Liquor law
  • Youth and Alcohol use
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Video

 

Definition

 For years the age limit for drinking differed from state to state, but by 1987 all had raised the drinking age to 21. Now some believe that it should be lowered again to 18. (“Underage Drinking” CQ Researcher, March 13, 1992, p228ff)

 

Narrow the topic

  • Are the age-21 drinking laws enforceable?
  • Do age-21 drinking laws encourage alcohol abuse among teens?
  • Do teenagers have the maturity to handle alcohol?
  • Do these laws lower traffic fatalities and accidents?
  • Should alcohol education be used to combat drunk driving rather than age-21 drinking laws?
  • What effect does having the drinking age at 21 have on crime?
  • Who should decide the drinking age of youth; the state or the parents?
  • Will lowering the drinking age to 18 increase teen suicides? 

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Alcohol
Call Number: REF HV5066 .A39 2008
ISBN: 0737737344

Cover Art
Should the legal drinking age be lowered?
Call Number: REF HV5135 .S57 2008
ISBN: 0737739347

Cover Art
Substance abuse: prevention & treatment
Call Number: REF RC563.4 .E53 2009
"Underage Drinking"

Cover Art
Teens at risk
Call Number: REF HV1431 .T437 2009
ISBN: 0737742321

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

How can I help you?

Profile Image
Suzette Spencer
Contact Info
Reference/Instruction Coordinator
University/College Library at Broward College
Central Campus
Davie, FL 33314
(954) 201-6484
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

 

Video

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip