This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Divorce" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Divorce  

Last Updated: Aug 2, 2010 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/divorce Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Video

 

Keywords

  • Broken homes
  • Children of divorced parents
  • Custody of children
  • Desertion
  • Divorce
  • Divorce -- Psychological aspects
  • Divorced men
  • Divorced parents
  • Divorced women
  • Family law

 

 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

 DEFINITION:  “Divorce is a judicial process that dissolves marriage vows and releases marriage partners from matrimonial commitments.” (Encyclopedia of Family Life)

 

Narrow the topic

  • Are alimony laws fair?
  • Are children of divorce more likely to have failed marriages?
  • Are children of two-parent families better off than children of divorced parents?
  • Are divorce laws fair?
  • Do arranged marriages make divorce less prevalent?
  • Does divorce have a long-term effect on children?
  • Does the internet contribute to the divorce rate?
  • Have 'no fault' divorce laws increased the number of divorces in the United States?
  • Is divorce an occupational hazard in certain careers?
  • Is there a correlation between increased juvenile delinquency, drug use, alcoholism, etc. with children of divorce?
  • Should counseling be required prior to divorce?
  • Should couples be required to take a course in marriage before they can obtain a license?
  • Should grandparents have visitation rights?
  • Should marriages be saved for the children?
  • Should states make divorce more difficult?
  • Should we eliminate no fault divorce and return to a 'fault divorce' system?
  • What are the causes of divorce?
  • What are the economic effects of divorce?
  • What are the emotional and psychological effects of divorce on the former spouse?
  • What can be done about the problem of child support and deadbeat dads?
  • What can be done to reduce the effects of divorce on children?
  • What economic or racial groups are more likely to divorce?
  • What is the relationship between substance abuse and divorce?
  • Would making divorce more difficult have a positive effect on children?

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Florida divorce handbook : a comprehensive source of legal information and practical advice
Call Number: REF KFF100.Z9 K43 2007
ISBN: 1561644021

Cover Art
Divorce
Call Number: REF HQ814 .D586 2009
ISBN: 0737742046

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of human relationships
Call Number: REF HM1106 .E53 2009

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion and the law in America
Call Number: REF KF4865.A68 A54 2009

Cover Art
Salem health: psychology & mental health
Call Number: REF BF 636 .P86 2010
"Separation and Divorce"

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of motherhood
Call Number: REF HQ759 .E52 2010

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

How can I help you?

Profile Image
Suzette Spencer
Contact Info
Reference/Instruction Coordinator
University/College Library at Broward College
Central Campus
Davie, FL 33314
(954) 201-6484
Send Email
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip