Definition
Date rape is a subset of acquaintance rape, though the two phrases are often used interchangeably, which refers to a rape scenario in which there is some sort of romantic relationship between the two parties.
(Encyclopedia of rape, 2004)
Keywords
Acquaintance Rape
Date Rape
Dating Violence
Sexual violence
Sexual assault
Same sex assault
Narrow the topic
Should colleges develop a sexual consent policy?
Do rape shield laws violate a defendant’s rights?
Do acquaintance rapes account for the majority of unreported rapes? If so, why?
Is date rape a form of sexual violence?
Do alcohol and/or drugs contribute to date rape?
Is there a rise in date rape cases in the gay/lesbian community?
Do women claim rape in situations where it is not justified?
Does the legal system discount the seriousness of date rape?
Is acquaintance rape by athletes a widespread problem?
Is it more difficult to prove date rape than stranger rape?
Do traditional female (passive)/male (aggressive) roles contribute to date rape?
Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
What is Date Rape?
Reference Books
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Recommended Internet Websites
Need Help? Ask us!
| Library Hours Research Consultation |
|
| 954.201.6653 954.201.6223 |
|
| refucl@broward.edu | |
| Ask-a-Librarian |
Updated on: 07/15/2011
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
