This is the "Home" page of the "Information Literacy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Information Literacy  

Links and information about information literacy for faculty and students.
Last Updated: Jan 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Instruction Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Hint

Tired of typing all those numbers when you search for online resources: ebooks or articles? You can save yourself the hassle by creating an "autologin" on your office or home computer. Check out the link below to find out how to simplify your searching.

 

Let us know

After your class has been to the library, we'd appreciate knowing how things went. Please take the time to fill out our short survey by clicking this link. We appreciate it!

Information Literacy at the U/CL

Information literacy is a process, a library instruction session is but one step.

Information literacy forms the basis for lifelong learning. It is common to all disciplines, to all learning environments, and to all levels of education. It enables learners to master content and extend their investigations, become more self-directed, and assume greater control over their own learning.

An information literate individual is able to:

  • Determine the extent of information needed
  • Access the needed information
  • Evaluate information and its sources critically
  • Incorporate selected information into one's knowledge base
  • Use information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose
  • Understand the economic, legal, and social issues surrounding the use of information and access and use information ethically and legally

For more on Information Literacy and how educators can incorporate competency standards into their courses and assignments, please visit this link.

Source: Association of College and Research Libraries, Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education: Standards, Performance Indicators, and Outcomes, January 18, 2000.

 

Scheduling tips for Instructors

We offer a variety of information literacy sessions; from basic orientations on traditional and online library resources and services to subject-specific research techniques.  Additionally, an online information literacy guide can be personalized for your courses or a specific-assignment based on your students' research needs, which can be embedded in D2L. Tours of the physical library are also available upon request.

An information literacy session should be scheduled at least a week in advance. Classes are 45-60 minutes; tours are 30 minutes.

The Library requires instructors to accompany their students for face-to face sessions as it has been proven to enhance the effectiveness of instruction.  If your students are working on a specific assignment, we can tailor our invaluable resources to their research needs. We look forward to working with you and your students!


To schedule a session, please use this link. You may also find it on the library's website:

  • Go to the U/C Library home page: http://ucl.broward.edu
  • Find "Library Instruction" on the right side of the page under "Services"

Contact Us:

Profile Image
Reference Department
Contact Info
3501 SW Davie Road, Bldg.17
Davie, FL 33314
954.201.6653 or 6223
Send Email

Research Quick Links

Below are quick access links to search for topics, print books, electronic books, and online articles.

  • U/CL Catalog
    Search for print and online books, and audio/visual materials in our collection.
  • All About eBooks
    This guide provides a detail description of our ebook collections and remote access.
  • Online Articles from Subscription Databases
    This section lists our collection of general and subject-specific databases. To login remotely, you will need your PID# from your ID card and the password is the MMDD of your birthdate.
  • Broward County Public Library Catalog
    This catalog is for materials located at the Main Library near the Downtown Center (WHC). You will need a Broward County Public Library card in order to borrow materials from this location.
  • WorldCat
    WorldCat is the world's largest database of library books. It allows you to search local library collections such as Novasoutheastern University, Florida Atlantic University, and the Broward County Public Library, as well as the United States and worldwide.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip