This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Child Sexual Abuse" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Child Sexual Abuse   Tags: child_sexual_abuse  

Guide to library and information sources.
Last Updated: Apr 25, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/child_sexual_abuse Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

Child sexual abuse is commonly defined as sexual acts between a youth and an older person (e.g. by 5 years or more) in which the dominance of the older peson is used to exploit or coerce the youth. (Encyclopedia of Psychology & Law, 2008)

 

Keywords

  • Child Sexual Abuse
  • Child Abuse
  • Sexually Abused Children
  • Adult Child Sexual Abuse Victims
  • Human Trafficking
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • What is the role of teachers or clergy in the sexual abuse of children?
  •  How prevalent is incest and what can be done about it?
  • What is false memory syndrome?
  •  What is the best way to handle sexual assaults by grade school students?
  •  What are the causes and effects of child molesting? 
  •  Will victims of child sexual abuse grow up to become child abusers?
  •  Does therapy help victims of child sexual abuse?
  • How can orphans in Haiti be protected from exploitation?

 

 

Reference Books

DSM-IV-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Call Number: (at the Reference Desk)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of interpersonal violence
Call Number: REF HM1121 .E57 2008
"Child Sexual Abuse," "Adult Survivors of Childhood Abuse"

Cover Art
Child: an encyclopedic companion
Call Number: REF HQ767.84 .C55 2009
"Sexual Abuse"

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law
Call Number: REF K346 .E53 2008

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the United States Constitution
Call Number: REF KF4548.5 .S38 2009
"Meagan's Law"

Encyclopedia of Stress
Call Number: REF QP82.2 .S8 E53 2007

 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles

Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip