Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Magazines & Journals

Journal of Addictions & Offender Counseling

The Journal of Criminal Law & Criminology

The Journal of Digital Forensics Security and Law

The Journal of Forensic Psychiatry & Psychology

Journal of Research in Crime & Delinquency

Why would I use a database?

Databases are great sources for finding information for your research paper. In the databases, you will find peer-reviewed or scholarly articles for your research. Journal Articles and Newspapers can be useful because you may find information on a topic that is so specific that no book has been written about it (and they may be more timely, since it takes some time to publish a book.)

Popular Databases

Magazine and newspapers articles

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society This link opens in a new window
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society provides historical background and contemporary status of the most significant social issues and includes supporting facts, figures, and timelines.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local and national topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources spanning the U.S., including the Sun Sentinel and the Miami Herald. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Recommended Databases

Many of these Databases listed under the "Social Sciences" heading in the library's list of databases by subject will contain scholarly articles on criminal justice topics. Here are direct links to just a few. Remember to choose Full Text when available.

Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Database covers a wide variety of criminal justice topics, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law. Full-text and image coverage for about 50 journals.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 700 scholarly journals in Heath Sciences, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Materials Science & Engineering, and Social Sciences & Humanities. Full text available from 1999.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink provides ebooks and journals in business, economics and finance, education, environmental science, engineering, health & medicine, law, materials, mathematics & statistics, sciences, and more. New titles are added frequently. To get access to available content, uncheck the "Include Preview-Only content" box at the top left of SpringerLink. A lock icon means there is no access to content. Ebooks can be downloaded in PDF format and kept forever for free. Print copies of most titles can be ordered for $25.00. SpringerLink supports an unlimited number of simultaneous users.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online journals covering life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Full text available from 1997. To get access to available content, filter results by Publication Type, then select Journals.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Military and Government Collection is designed to offer current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies.
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence contains scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily, content supports key subject areas, such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Browse Selected ProQuest Journals (Login Required)

To access one of these journals, please click on the journal title and login with your BC Student ID# or BC PID# and your default password is MMDD of your birthday.

For a complete list of journals or to find additional titles, please consult the A-Z Journal Listing page.

Browse Selected Sage Journals (Login Required)

To access one of these journals, please click on the journal title and login with your BC Student ID# or BC PID# and your default password is MMDD of your birthday.

For a complete list of journals or to find additional titles, please consult the A-Z Journal Listing page.

Criminal Justice

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

Login Information

Scholarly Journals

Why would I use a database?

Popular Databases

Recommended Databases

Browse Selected ProQuest Journals (Login Required)

Browse Selected Sage Journals (Login Required)