Finding Information - ENC 1101 - Prof. Santivasci - Research Guides at Broward College

Tips on Searching Databases

Boolean logic is the method of using And, Or, Not to connect or exclude keywords. Click on the link below to access an interactive guide on how to use Boolean operators (And, Or, Not) to improve your search results.

Tutorial
Guide created by Colorado State University on using Boolean operators to search databases

Login Required

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Suggested Databases

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information theyre looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Learn about major issues from current and historical perspectives and the inner workings of the U.S. government from authoritative, accessible, and unbiased sources.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.

Searching the Net

Search the U/CL Catalog

Search for Books & eBooks. To locate other library materials use the BC Libraries homepage.

Search the Library Catalog

Need Help? (Central)

	Student Research Appointment
	954.201.6653 954.201.6223
	library@broward.edu
	Chat with Us!

Updated on: 08/14/2018

Find Print Books in the Library

Call numbers are used to locate print books in the library. What is a call number? It is a series of letters and numbers in alphabetical and numerical order that designate where a book is placed on the shelf.

For a detailed explanation on call numbers click here: Understanding Call Numbers

Quick Library Tour

First Floor - Reference Books & Periodicals

Second Floor - Circulating Books A-H

Third Floor - Circulating Books J-Z

Fourth Floor - Oversize Books, Career Books & (CLC)Children's Books

ENC 1101 - Prof. Santivasci: Finding Information