Choose a Topic - ENC 1101 - Prof Bennett - Research Guides at Broward College

How do I choose a topic?

The research process begins by choosing a topic. There are many ways to select a topic. You can search the library's pathfinders, catalog or databases. These resources will help you select a research topic about a social issue or current event.

Check out Topic Guides created by BC Librarians. They give you step-by-step starting points for using various resources from the BC Library; these resources include eBooks, topic pages, databases, videos, and websites.

Choosing a Topic from Databases

Database: a search engine which provides access to articles

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Find in-depth background information on controversial and current issues. Browse Recent Reports or By Topic to paper topic ideas.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Full-text essays giving multiple perspectives on controversial issues. Use Need a Research Topic menu on bottom right of page to select/learn about a topic.

NewsBank
NewsBank provides news articles covering social, economic, environmental, government, sports, health and science issues and events from more than 500 U.S. regional and national newspapers, wire services, and broadcasts.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand provides streaming access to more than 20,000 videos covering a wide range of subject areas.

	Student Research Appointment
	954.201.6653 954.201.6223
	library@broward.edu
	Chat with Us!