Skip to main content

Ebooks: All About eBooks

Describe ebook collections and explain how patrons can interact with each.

Check-out Policies

Ebook Central offers various checkout lengths (1, 7, 14, or 21 days) depending on the license of the individual title.

eBook Collection from EBSCO offers a 7 day maximum checkout length, the user decides on how many days.

Mobile Device Info

eBook Central (ProQuest)

For info on downloading to mobile devices click here.


eBook Collection (EBSCO)

For info on downloading to mobile devices click here.


MIT Press Direct

MIT Press Direct was designed with mobile responsiveness and each title offers PDF downloads by chapter, DRM-Free.


O'Reilly Online Learning

You can download as many books and videos as you would like. For info on downloading to mobile devices click here.


Project MUSE

Project MUSE can be accessed on mobile devices with a web browser and each title offers PDF downloads by chapter, DRM-Free.


SpringerLink

SpringerLink offers full eBook downloads or chapter downloads to any mobile device, DRM-Free.


University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection

University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection is optimized for mobile devices and each title offers full PDF and EPUB downloads, DRM-Free.


eBook Collections

Below is a list of eBook collections available through the U/C Library. When logging in, please use your Borrower ID number (student ID or employee ID) and your two-digit month and two-digit day of your birthdate (MMDD). For more information, click here.


A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z


ABC-CLIO
ABC-CLIO eBooks provides reference, academic and general interest ebooks with subject strengths in social sciences, business, and literature.
Title count: 3,164.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be printed by page range.
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


APA Style Guide to Electronic References, 6th ed.
This comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA Style. You may print a copy for your own personal use only.
➤ Access to this guide is available for students, faculty, and staff through RefWorks. First, login into RefWorks, go to Sharing, then Folders shared at Broward College, then Electronic.
➤ Access to this document is also available for current Broward College students here.


Biography Reference eBook Collection
New! Biography Reference eBook Collection is a companion eBook collection to the Biography Reference Center database and contains nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses.
Title Count: 140.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by page range. Requires an EBSCOhost account to download. For information on how to sign up, click here. Full downloads require Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


Drama Online
New! Drama Online provides unique access to the finest drama literature. Drama Online Core Collection currently includes over 1,300 playtexts from Methuen Drama, The Arden Shakespeare, and Faber and Faber.
Title Count: 1,380.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ Playtexts can be printed by acts.
➤ Direct links to playtexts available.
More info click here.


Ebook Central
Popular! Ebook Central covers all academic subject areas with eBooks from leading academic, STM, and professional publishers. Ebook Central replaces ebrary.
Title Count: 62,362.
User access: Varies, depending on title. Mostly multiple users.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by page range. Full downloads require Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


eBook Collection (EBSCO)
This ebook collection from EBSCO features titles on all subject areas specifically selected for Florida's community colleges. Now supports downloads!
Title count: 30,258.
User access: Varies, depending on title. Mostly single user.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by page range. Requires an EBSCOhost account to download. For information on how to sign up, click here. Full downloads require Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


eDuke Scholarly Collection
The eDuke Books Scholarly Collection includes over 2,000 humanities and social sciences titles published by Duke University Press.
Title count: 2,592.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by chapter PDFs.
➤ DOI links to titles and chapters available.
More info click here.


Gale eBooks
Popular! The Gale eBook platform enables users to find and retrieve multi-disciplinary digital content from Gale imprints, and those of over 150 publishing partners.
Title count: 2,643.
User access: Unlimited. DRM-Free.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded by chapter.
➤ Direct links to titles and chapters available.
More info click here. (PDF)


History Reference Center eBook Collection
New! History Reference Center eBook Collection is a companion eBook collection to the History Reference Center database and contains nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses.
Title Count: 201.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by page range. Requires an EBSCOhost account to download. For information on how to sign up, click here. Full downloads require Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


Infobase eBooks
Infobase eBooks
provides Bloom's Literature Series, a collection of eBooks on literary criticism, poets, dramatists, novelists, short story writers, period studies and current issues.
Title count: 588.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded, requires email address to download and must enter page range to print.
➤ Direct and embedded links to titles available.
More info click here. (Video)


JSTOR
JSTOR
provides access to the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Title count: 5,889.
User access: Unlimited. DRM-Free.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by chapter PDFs, must accept JSTOR's terms and conditions to download.
➤ Direct and DOI links to titles and chapters available.
More info click here.


Latino Literature
Latino Literature includes poetry, fiction, and plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.
Title Count: 462.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ Titles can be printed by sections.
➤ Direct links to titles and sections available.
More info click here.


Literary Reference Center Plus eBook Collection
New! Literary Reference Center Plus eBook Collection is a companion eBook collection to the Literary Reference Center Plus database and contains nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses. In addition, the Literary Reference Center Plus eBook Collection contains several classic fiction titles.
Title Count: 194.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by page range. Requires an EBSCOhost account to download. For information on how to sign up, click here. Full downloads require Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


MAS Reference eBook Collection
New! MAS Reference eBook Collection is a companion eBook collection to the Mas Ultra - School Edition database and contains nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses.
Title Count: 265.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by page range. Requires an EBSCOhost account to download. For information on how to sign up, click here. Full downloads require Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection
New! MasterFILE Reference eBook Collection is a companion eBook collection to the MasterFILE Premier database and contains nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses.
Title Count: 790.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by page range. Requires an EBSCOhost account to download. For information on how to sign up, click here. Full downloads require Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


MIT Press Direct
New! MIT Press Direct has eBooks covering subject areas that art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences.
Title count: 2,718.
User access: Unlimited.
DRM-Free.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by chapter PDFs.
➤ DOI links to titles and chapters available.
More info click here.


Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is a reference work for research and the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music of all the world's peoples.
Title count: 10.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be printed (full or page range).
➤ Embedded links to titles and chapters available.


National Geographic Virtual Library
National Geographic Virtual Library
has eBooks that cover subject areas that include animals, environment, history, people and cultures, science and technology, and travel.
Title count: 322.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be printed by page range.
➤ Direct link to titles not available.


Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is a searchable dictionary that includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series.
Title count: 1.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ Individual entries can be printed.
➤ Direct links to entries are not available.
More info click here.


O'Reilly Online Learning
O'Reilly Online Learning
includes eBooks and 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly's global conferences covering many subjects including business, math, science, and engineering.
Title count: 43,932.
User access: Unlimited. DRM-Free.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded via the O'Reilly app. Printing not available at this time.
➤ Direct links to titles are not available.
More info click here.


Primary Search Reference eBook Collection
New! Primary Search Reference eBook Collection is a companion eBook collection to the Primary Search database and contains nonfiction and reference books from top educational publishers, including Abdo Publishing Company, Cherry Lake Publishing, Crabtree Publishing, Lerner Publishing Group, Rourke Publishing and dozens of university presses.
Title Count: 102.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by page range. Requires an EBSCOhost account to download. For information on how to sign up, click here. Full downloads require Adobe Digital Editions (free software).
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Project MUSE includes a titles on art, archaeology, anthropology, architecture, biology, communications and journalism, creative writing, criminal justice, diversity, economics, ecology, education, environmental sciences, folklore, geography, history, law, literature, medicine and health, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, social sciences, theater, and more.
Title count: 5,879.
User access: Unlimited. DRM-Free.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by chapter PDFs.
➤ Direct links to titles available.
More info click here.


PubMed
PubMed
is a biomedical literature index with over 22 million citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. To access eBooks, go to 'Bookshelf' and select ‘Books’ from the drop-down menu. Bookshelf provides free online access to eBooks and to other documents.
Title count: 1,134.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by full and chapter PDFs.
➤ DOI links available for select titles.
More info click here.


Salem Online
Salem Online
provides reference works in careers, health, history, literature, and science.
Title Count: 396.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ eBook chapters can be printed, must register to print.
➤ Direct link to titles are not available.
More info click here. (PDF Download)


SpringerLink
SpringerLink
provides ebooks and journals in business, economics and finance, education, environmental science, engineering, health & medicine, law, materials, mathematics & statistics, sciences, and more.
Title Count: 101,555.
User access: Unlimited. DRM-Free.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by full and chapter PDFs.
➤ DOI links to titles available.
More info click here.


Testing & Education Reference Center
Testing & Education Reference Center helps prepare students for specialized tests for college, graduate school, the military or trade school. It includes preparatory tests from the GED (General Educational Development) to the GRE (Graduate Record Examination General Test).
Title Count: 70.
User access: Unlimited, but first time users must create an account.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed, must register to download and print. To register, click here.
➤ Direct links to titles are not available.
More info click here. (PDF)


University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection
New! The University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) is a comprehensive collection of the University of Michigan Press’s scholarly ebooks.
Title Count: 156.
User access: Unlimited. DRM-Free.
➤ eBooks can be downloaded and printed by full PDFs.
➤ DOI links to titles available.
More info click here.


World Book Advanced
World Book Advanced
includes every article from the 22-volume print set encyclopedia, interactive maps, a world atlas, pathfinders, a Today in History section, timelines, compare places, world newspapers, government websites, and more. Click on Research & Resources to select a section.
User access: Unlimited.
➤ Individual entries can be downloaded and printed.
➤ Direct links to entries are not available.
More info click here. (Video)