Skip to main content

ENC 1101 - Prof. Lenhardt: How do I Cite...

Volunteerism and Service Learning Assignment

Attention ENC 1102 Students!!

Need to cite from the For Students Series (FSS)? This includes series for short stories, poetry, drama, and Shakespeare.

How to Cite:
1) When citing text from the FSS that does not list an author (for example the Themes, Style, Historical Context sections, etc.)


2) When citing content that was written specifically for the FSS (for example, the first essay under the Criticism heading)


3) When citing an essay that originally appeared in a journal or newspaper and is reprinted in the FSS


4) When citing an essay that originally appeared in a book and is reprinted in the FSS

MLA: Book (Print)

Last name, First name. Title of Book. City of Publication:

     Publisher, Year of Publication. Medium of Publication.

Example:

Bolling, Linda. My Life with My Best Friend in Colorado. New

     York: Time-Life, 2008. Print.

MLA: Dictionary Entry (Print)

"Title of Entry." Title of Work. xxth ed. Year. Medium of

     Publication.

"Azimuthal Equidistant Projection." Merriam-Webster's

     Collegiate Dictionary. 11th ed. 2003. Print.

MLA: Journal (Print)

Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title

     Volume#. Issue# (Year): Page#(s). Medium of Publication.

Example:

Marsh, Charleen L. “Volcanic Seismology in California.”

     Geology 17.4 (2004): 45-67. Print.

MLA: Newspaper (Print)

Last name, First name. "Title of Article."

         Name of Newspaper Day Month Year: Section and Page.

         Medium of Publication.

Example:

Eilperin, Juliet. "U.S. Considers Deep-Sea Chemicals for

     Oil Cleanup." Washington Post 10 May 2010: A6. Print.

MLA: Magazine (Print)

Last name, First name. "Article Title." Magazine Title Day Month

     Year: Page#(s). Medium of Publication.

Example:

Armintor, Bob. “The Search for Hidden Life.” Newsweek

     22 Nov. 1999: 82-93. Print.

MLA: Book (Online/eBook)

Last name, First name. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year of Publication.

     Name of Database. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.

Example:

Baehr, Craig M., and Bob Schaller. Writing for the Internet : A Guide to Real Communication

     in Virtual Space. Santa Barbara: Greenwood Press, 2010. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).

     Web. 13 Nov. 2012.

 

MLA: Dictionary Entry (Online)

"Title of Entry." Title of Work. Title of Website.Year. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.

Example:

"Encumber." Merriam-Webster Online. Dictionary and Thesaurus - Merriam-Webster Online.

     2013. Web. 3 June 2013.

MLA: Journal (Online)

Last name, First name. "Article Title." Journal Title Volume#.Issue# (Year): Page#(s).

     Name of Database. Medium of Publication. Date of Access.

Example:

Liberatore, Stephanie. "Q Is Organic Food Healthier?" The Science Teacher 77.7

     (2010): 74. CINAHL. Web. 15 Mar. 2013.

 

MLA: Webpage

Editor, Author, or Compiler Name (if available). “Page Title.” Website Title. Version or Edition.

     Sponsor or Publisher (use N.p. if not available), Date of Publication (use n.d. if not available).

     Medium of Publication. Date of Access.

Example:

“Organic Foods: Are They Safer? More Nutritious?”  Mayo Clinic. Mayo Foundation for Medical

     Education and Research, 7 Sep. 2012. Web. 28 Sep. 2012.

MLA: Images (Online)

Last Name, First Name. Title of Image or Description.

      Year of Creation. Institution, City Where Work is Housed. Name of Website.

      Medium of Publication. Day Month Year of Access.

Example:

Klee, Paul. Twittering Machine. 1922. Museum of Modern Art, New York. 

     The Artchive. Web. 22 May 2006.

 

MLA: Videos (Online)

Last Name, First name or Poster's Username. “Title of Image or Video.” Media Type.

    Name of Website. Name of Website’s Publisher, Day Month Year of Posting. Medium of

     Publication. Day Month Year of Access.

Example:

Shimabukuro, Jake. "Ukulele Weeps by Jake Shimabukuro." Online video clip.

     YouTube. YouTube, 22 Apr. 2006. Web. 9 Sept. 2010.

Anthology or Collection (Entire Anthology)

Last name, First name of editor(s), ed(s). Title of Anthology. City: Publisher, Year. Medium

     of Publication.

Example:

Hill, Charles A., and Marguerite Helmers, eds. Defining Visual Rhetorics. Mahwah:

      Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004. Print.

Anthology or Collection (Single work within)

Last name, First name. "Title of Work within Anthology." Title of Anthology. Ed. First Name

     Last Name of Editor. City of Publication: Publisher, Year. Page#(s). Medium of Publication.

Example:

Swanson, Gunnar. "Graphic Design Education as a Liberal Art: Design and Knowledge

     in the University and The 'Real World.'" The Education of a Graphic Designer.

     Ed. Steven Heller. New York: Allworth Press, 1998. 13-24. Print.