Skip to main content

Broward College Archives & Special Collections: Travel Brochures 1940 - 1955

Housing significant papers, publications, photographs, and other objects related to the history of Broward College.

Travel Brochures 1940 - 1955

 

Finding Guides

 

MS 005 Guide to the travel brochures of the 20th century 1940- 1955*

 

Processed by: Christina Foresman

 

Date Completed: September 2010

 

Descriptive Summary

Administrative Information

Online Catalog Headings

Historical Note

Scope and Content

Collection Arrangement

Detailed Description of the Collection

 

Descriptive Summary

 

Repository:
Broward College Special Collections, University/College Library at Broward College - Central Campus

Creator: Unknown

Title: Travel Brochures of the 20th century from 1940-1955*

Call Number: MS005

Extent: 1 manuscript album, 0. 3 linear feet

 

Location

The travel brochure collection is located in Broward College’s Special Collections department (4th floor of the library).

 

Abstract

This collection includes travel brochures, information guides, and other tourist-related advertisements from 1940-1955. However, the majority of items are from 1952-1953. This collection is useful for researchers who want to focus on the travel industry in the 1950s. Brochures focus on parks and monuments throughout the United States.    

 

Administrative Information

 

Restrictions to Access

Since there are no restrictions on this collection, it is open to research. However, please contact Broward College Archives and Special Collections, University/College Library at Broward College Central Campus in advance to schedule an appointment.

 

Provenance

Anonymous gift  to Special Collections June 2010.

Preferred Citation:

MS 005, Travel Brochures 1940-1955*, Album 1 of 1, Broward College Archives and Special Collections, University/College Library at Broward College Central Campus.

 

Copyright Notice -Check copyright information-

The copyright is owned by the publishing company. These materials can be utilized for research or other educational purposes but under no circumstances can the publishers’ materials and/or photographs be used for monetary gain.

 

Historical Note

Following years of despair during the Great Depression of the 1930s and war in the 1940s, Americans sough greater leisure after their victories in Europe and in the Pacific during World War II. In the 1950s, tourism increased across the United States, bringing in more revenue for attractions and more money for state parks.  Cheaper air travel made it possible for Americans to visit more places than ever before. New airplane parts developed during World War II made the price of an airline ticket comparable to the price of a train ticket.  President Dwight D. Eisenhower's creation of an Interstate Highway System in 1956 also resulted in increased tourism as these highways linked the nation via high speed, limited access highways.  

This collection of travel guides from the 1950’s is a historical snapshot of life after World War II. 

Scope and Content

This collection includes a series of travel brochures depicting the travel industry and various attractions throughout the United States. The materials are from 1940 -1955 but a few brochures do not have a listed date. 

 

Collection Arrangement

Collection is arranged alphabetically by city and state.  

 

Online Catalog Headings

Travel Paraphernalia

Paraphernalia

Ephemera

United States – description and travel

 

Organization of Collection

No Series, strictly alphabetical

 

 

Detailed Description of the Collection

 

Album 1

Travel Brochures, 1940-1955 and undated

32 files

 

(MS #/Box #/ File #)

 

005/01/01      Beautiful Atomic Tunnel (Daytona Beach, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/02      Clewiston Inn (Clewiston, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/03      United States Sugar Corporation: Visitor’s Pass (Clewiston, Florida): 1955

 

005/01/04      Ponce de Leon Springs (DeLeon Springs, Florida): 1953

 

005/01/05      Visit Marine Studios (Marineland, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/06      Visit Marine Studios (Marineland, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/07      Colee’s Sightseeing Terminal: Colee’s Tours Incorporated (St. Augustine, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/08      Explore the Oldest House (St. Augustine, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/09      Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Museum of Oddities and Curiosities (St. Augustine, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/10      Lightner Museum of Hobbies (St. Augustine, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/11      America’s First Mission Nombre de Dias and SHRINE of Our Lady of La Leche (St. Augustine, Florida): N.D.

 

005/01/12      Leaflet of Our Lady of La Leche (St. Augustine, Florida): 1953

 

005/01/13      Casper’s Ostrich and Alligator Farm (St. Augustine, Florida): 1953

 

005/01/14      St. Augustine Alligator Farm (St. Augustine, Florida): (n.d.)

 

005/01/15      Alligator! By F. Charles Usina and W.I. Drysdale: 1952

 

005/01/16      The Legend of the Bridal Chamber at Florida’s Silver Springs: 1952

 

005/01/17      The Legend of the Bridal Chamber at Florida’s Silver Springs: 1952

 

005/01/18      See Silver Springs-Nature’s Underwater Fairyland: (n.d.)

 

005/01/19      Road Map of the Black Hills of South Dakota: A Mountain Vacation Land: (n.d.)

 

005/01/20      Official Guide to South Dakota State Parks: (n.d.)

 

005/01/21      Mount Rushmore-National Monument-South Dakota: 1951

 

005/01/22      Dinosaur: National Monument- Colorado --- Utah: 1952

 

005/01/23      Explore Caves and Caverns of Pennsylvania: (n.d.)

 

005/01/24      In Pennsylvania: Penn’s Cave- Centre Hall: (n.d.)

 

005/01/25      Laurel, Montana- Crossroads of the West-(n.d)

 

005/01/26      Montana Guest Pass-50th Anniversary-Yellowstone Park: 1953

 

005/01/27      Hannibal, Missouri- Invites You to Visit the Shrine of Mark Twain: (n.d.)

 

005/01/28      Mark Twain Cave-Hannibal, MO.: (n.d.)

 

005/01/29      Great Smoky Mountains-National Park-Tennessee-North Carolina: 1953

 

005/01/30      Franconia Notch-White Mountains-New Hampshire: 1940

 

 005/01/31     Miscellaneous-Pack of Matches-Green Lantern Restaurant- Dover, N.J.: (n.d.)

 

005/01/32      Miscellaneous- Advertisement- See Scenic Green River, Aboard Miss Green River: (n.d.)

 

*Several documents do not show a publication date.

 

Work Cited

Air travel in the 1950’s. (2001) American Decades. http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G2-3468301799.html

Federal Highway Administration.(n.d.) The United States Department of Transportation. http://www.fhwa.dot.gov/interstate/homepage.cfm

 

Broward College Archives and Special Collections

University/College Library at Broward College Central Campus

Processed September 2010