This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Anabolic Steroids" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Anabolic Steroids  

Last Updated: Jul 6, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/anabolic_steroids Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




 

Definition

“Anabolic steroids are the synthetic versions of the naturally occurring male sex hormone testosterone; they are properly called anabolic-androgen steroids because they have both body building (anabolic) and masculinizing (androgenic) effects.” (Encyclopedia of Drugs and Alcohol)

 

Narrow the topic

·        What is the best way to eliminate performance-enhancing substances from sports?.

·        Can designer steroids stay ahead of regulations?

·        Do anabolic steroids have any value as a major treatment for HIV/AIDS patients?

·        How effective is drug testing of athletes?

·        Discuss the adverse physical and psychological effects of anabolic steroids.

·        Compare testing and punishment of steroid use among the Olympics, the NFL, the NCAA, the NBA, the MLB, and the NHL.

·        Contrast anabolic steroids with creatine, erythropoietin (EPO), cyproterone acetate, or human growth hormone (HGH)

·        Does drug testing violate the "innocent until proven guilty" principle?

·        Should high school be tested for steroids and who should pay for the tests?

 

Available at the Reference Desk

CQ Researcher Plus Archive "Sports and Drugs" 7/23/04; "Dietary Supplements" 9/3/04

Issues and Controversies "Performance Enhancing Substances: Ephedra" 5/09/03 p. 197-204: Performance Enhancing Substances: Update" 6/24/04

Opposing Viewpoints: Sports and Athletes (Also Available in Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

At Issue: Performance Enhancing Drugs (Also Available in Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)

 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of addictions and addictive behaviors
Call Number: REF RC564 .G95
(Also available as an E-book)

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol, & addictive behavior
Call Number: REF HV5804 .E53
ISBN: http://catalog.linccweb.org/F/1SXNVGUYPS6LJ7NS89Y7CEMTQ9JXFLTICBE77A1JVV42LCD5NT-06342?func=find-acc


Cover Art
Forensic science
Call Number: REF HV8073 .F5837 2009
"Anabolic Steroid Control Act of 2004"


Cover Art
Magill's Medical Guide
Call Number: REF RC41 .M34 2011

 

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Neil Linger
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip