Finding Books
Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.
Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.
Google It
Definition
"1990 U.S. law that prohibits discrimination against people with mental or physical disabilities…Under the ADA, companies must make 'reasonable accommodations' to provide the disabled with equal access to services and opportunities as long as such accommodations do not cause 'undue hardship'." Encyclopedia of Social Issues
Narrow the topic
· Does the ADA secure the civil rights of people with disabilities?
· Have employment opportunities (for the disabled) improved since the passage of the ADA?
· Did Congress design the ADA to protect a small number of individuals with severe disabilities or those of the public whose minor disabilities could easily be corrected?
· Has the ADA increased the number of discrimination claims filed?
· Should disabled people who rely on Medicaid lose that insurance when they have full-time employment?
· Do ADA provisions on mental health restrict employers in the hiring of capable and reliable workers?
· Does the ADA force business to hire unqualified people?
· What are "reasonable accommodations"?
· Should former substance abusers be covered by the ADA?
· Is ADA compliance too expensive? Does the act impose unreasonable burdens on business?
· Should schools mainstream students with disabilities?
· Discuss new technology that will make a difference for people with disabilities like gyroscopic wheelchairs, the Personal Urban Mobility and Accessibility Project, Dean Kamen's prosthetic arm, etc.
Available at the Reference Desk
Opposing Viewpoints: Work; America’s Victims (also in the Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Database)
Reference Books
Suggested Databases
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
- Issues and Controversies Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
- Opposing Viewpoints Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
- Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- America's Newspapers America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
- Subject Specific Databases
Statistics
Disability Statistics Center: http://dsc.ucsf.edu/main.php
Facts and Features: U.S. Census Bureau http://www.census.gov/Press-Release/www/2003/cb03ff-10.html
Statistical Abstract of the United States (also at the Reference Desk)
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Login Required
To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.
Cite Your Sources
Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)
- MLA Update 2009In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
These changes go into effect in April 2009. - Sample of MLA Work Cited PageFrom Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
- Citation Builder - NCSUCitation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.


![[BC Library Card]](http://ucl.broward.edu/gif/BCID.gif)
Loading...
