This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Abortion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Abortion  

Pathfinder to library resources.
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2011 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/abortion Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Keywords

  • Abortion
  • Birth control
  • Right to life
  • Pro-choice movement
  • Pro-life movement
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

Google It




Websites

      
     

    Definition

    Induced abortion, termination of pregnancy) the removal of an embryo or fetus from the uterus at a stage of pregnancy when it is deemed incapable of independent survival (i.e. at any time between conception and the 24th week of pregnancy)" "abortion"  Concise Medical Dictionary. Oxford University Press, 2010. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Broward College.  29 April 2011

     

    Narrow the topic

    • Should the rights of the unborn be more important than those of the mother?
    • When does life begin?
    • What can be done about abortion clinic bombings?
    • Should aborted fetuses be used for medical research?
    • Should parents be notified when their teenagers before a teenager has an abortion?
    • How can Roe v. Wade be overturned?
    • Should an ultrasound be required prior to an abortion? Should late term abortions be permitted?
    • Is the abortion procedure safe?
    • Is abortion immoral?
    • Is abortion justified after a rape?
    • Is the fight against Planned Parenthood justified?
    • Is partial birth abortion infanticide?
    • Is abortion genocide?
    • How is the abortion battle being fought in the Florida legislature? In Kansas?
    • Should Planned Parenthood be funded by the government?
     

    Reference Books


    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of human relationships
    Call Number: REF HM1106 .E53 2009

    Cover Art
    Abortion: opposing viewpoints
    Call Number: REF HQ767 .A152 2010
    Also available in the Opposing Viewpoints In Context database

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of the United States Constitution
    Call Number: REF KF4548.5 .S38 2009

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of religion and the law in America
    Call Number: REF KF4865.A68 A54 2009
    "Abortion;" "Fetal Rights"



    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of death and the human experience
    Call Number: REF HQ1073 .E544 2009

    Cover Art
    Encyclopedia of abortion in the United States
    Call Number: REF HQ767.5.U5 P35 2009

    Cover Art
    Public health in the 21st century
    Call Number: REF RA424.8 .P83 2011
    Publication Date: 2011
    Issues in Contraception and Abortion: The Debate Rages

     

    Suggested Databases

    • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
        
      CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
    • Issues and Controversies  
        
      Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
    • Opposing Viewpoints  
        
      Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
    • Academic Search Complete  
        
      Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
    • America's Newspapers  
        
      America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
    • Subject Specific Databases
     

    Statistics

    Cover Art
    Abortion, an eternal social and moral issue.
    Call Number: REF HQ767 .A267
    Also available in Opposing Viewpoints In Context database

    Cover Art
    Health, United States.
    Call Number: REF RA407.3 .U57a




     

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Neil Linger
     

    Login Required

    [BC Library Card]

    To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

    Cite Your Sources

    Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

    • MLA Update 2009
      In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
      These changes go into effect in April 2009.
    • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
      From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
    • Citation Builder - NCSU
      Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip