This is the "Pathfinder" page of the "Zero Tolerance & Schools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Zero Tolerance & Schools  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2012 URL: http://libguides.broward.edu/Zero_Tolerance Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Pathfinder Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Definition

An established plan or method of action stating that certain acts will not be permitted or condoned. School districts often have a zero-tolerance policy regarding weapons, the use of drugs and alcohol on school premises. (Black's Law Dictionary)

 

Keywords

  • School Violence
  • Zero Tolerance
 

Finding Books

Books
Search for books in the University/College Library. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.


eBooks
eBooks are electronic versions of books available to read online 24/7. For a simple subject search, please use the search box below.

Note: You will have to login with your BC ID# and Your default PIN is a 4 digit code based on your birth date: MMDD. (For example, if you were born on July 04, your PIN is 0704.) Updated on 01/25/12, DT.

 

Video

Zero Gun Tolerance On School Campus

Google It




 

Narrow the topic

  • Is there an epidemic of school violence?
  • Has zero tolerance resulted in disproportionate punishments? Racial profiling?
  • Has zero tolerance become a tool for disposing of problem children?
  • Does zero tolerance distinguish between good kids and delinquents?
  • Are zero-tolerance policies constitutional?
  • Have zero tolerance policies improved student behavior and/or increased school safety?
 

Reference Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of education law - Charles J. Russo
Call Number: REF KF4117 .E53 2008
ISBN: 9781412940795

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of juvenile violence - Laura L. Finley
Call Number: REF HV9104 .E59 2007 or ebooks
ISBN: 9780313336829

Cover Art
School policies - Jamuna Carroll
Call Number: REF LB3012.2 .S36 2008
ISBN: 9780737738261

Cover Art
School shootings - Susan Hunnicutt
Call Number: REF LB3013.32 .S347 2006
ISBN: 9780737724165

Cover Art
School violence - Lucinda Almond
Call Number: REF LB3013.32 .S348 2008
ISBN: 9780737737950

 
 

Finding Articles

Find Magazine/Journal Articles

Search full-text magazine/journal articles. Login required!

Suggested Databases

  • CQ Researcher Plus Archive  
      
    CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs.
  • Issues and Controversies  
      
    Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.
  • Opposing Viewpoints  
      
    Opposing Viewpoints searches viewpoint articles, contextual topic overviews, government and organizational statistics, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles and more social issues.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals.
  • America's Newspapers  
      
    America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database.
  • Subject Specific Databases
 

Login Required

[BC Library Card]

To log in to the library databases, e-books, and My Account, use your BC student ID number as your Borrower ID. Your PIN is now your birthday in MMDD format (for example, if your birthday is July 4th, your PIN is 0704). If you are having difficulty accessing from off-campus, please contact the U/C library at 954.201.6653 or 954.201.6223.

Cite Your Sources

Eventually, all students have to learn to properly cite their sources for their research. Some classes require MLA style, while others use APA. This page will give you pointers as well as help in creating those "Works Cited" or "References" pages. Remember you can always contact us, if it gets confusing (and it usually does!)

  • MLA Update 2009
    In Summer 2008, the Modern Language Association released its third edition of the MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, which publicly unveiled modifications to MLA Style for the upcoming year.
    These changes go into effect in April 2009.
  • Sample of MLA Work Cited Page
    From Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University
  • Citation Builder - NCSU
    Citation Builder is an interactive web tool designed to assist college and university students in their effort to respect other people's intellectual properties.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip