Volunteerism and Community Service - ENC 1101 - Prof. Lenhardt

Volunteerism

The NFL Players Association joins President Barack Obama in calling our nation to serve. (1:02 min.)
https://www.youtube.com/v/qnrNNwJItB0

Keywords

non-profit organizations
community service
volunteerism
voluntarism
service learning
national service
national community service
community action
citizen participation
citizenship
voluntary associations

Opportunities to Volunteer

America Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals
"The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) was the first humane society to be established in North America and is, today, one of the largest in the world".
American Red Cross
"Since its founding in 1881 by visionary leader Clara Barton, the American Red Cross has been the nation's premier emergency response organization. As part of a worldwide movement that offers neutral humanitarian care to the victims of war, the American Red Cross distinguishes itself by also aiding victims of devastating natural disasters."
Habitat for Humanity
"Habitat for Humanity International was founded in 1976 by Millard and Linda Fuller. Today, Habitat for Humanity is a true world leader in addressing the issues of poverty housing".
Meals on Wheels
"All told, there are some 5,000 local Senior Nutrition Programs in the United States. These programs provide well over one million meals to seniors who need them each day. Some programs serve meals at congregate locations like senior centers, some programs deliver meals directly to the homes of seniors whose mobility is limited, and many programs provide both services. "
Miami Dolphins Special Teams
Surfrider Foundation
"The Surfrider Foundation is a non-profit grassroots organization dedicated to the protection and enjoyment of our world’s oceans, waves and beaches."
Better Business Bureau
Information on national charities including their finances and mission.
Broward College Volunteer Opportunities

Additional Reading

Volunteerism by Gary Wiener
Call Number: HN49 .V65 2008
ISBN: 9780737738889

Google It

Definition

National (and community) service- is a strategy designed to promote civic participation and responsabilities by providing opportunities for individuals to serve their country and fellow citizens.- Encyclopedia of Community

Volunteerism- The theory, act or practice of being a volunteer or of using volunteers in community service work.- Websters New College Dictionary.

Narrow the topic

What are the benefits of volunteering?
Is voluntary public service superior to mandatory service?
Should our government be involved in public service?
Do volunteer programs enhance corporate effectiveness?

Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Community: From the Village to the Virtual World by Christansen, K. & Levinson, D.
Call Number: REF HM 756. E53 2003 v.3 & 4
ISBN: 0761925988
National Community Service, Volunteerism
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by Anderson, G.L & Herr, K.G.
Call Number: REF HM 671. E53 2007 v.4
ISBN: 9781412918121
Volunteers in Service to America
Alternatives to the Peace Corps by Willsea, J.S.
Call Number: REF HN 49.V64 A47 2003
ISBN: 0935028919

Sun Sentinel Volunteer Guide

Websites

United We Serve
"Serve.gov is your online resource for not only finding volunteer opportunities in your community, but also creating your own. Use Serve.gov to help you do your part. America’s foundation will be built one community at a time – and it starts with you."
Corporation for National and Community Service
"The Corporation is the nation’s largest grantmaker supporting service and volunteering. Through our Senior Corps, AmeriCorps, and Learn and Serve America programs, we provide opportunities for Americans of all ages and backgrounds to express their patriotism while addressing critical community needs".
Volunteering in America
"Through this Web site, you will be able to access volunteering trends, statistics, tools, resources, and information for the nation, U.S. regions, states, and major cities. You will also be able to see how states and cities rank on different factors related to volunteering".
Volunteer Broward
"Volunteer Broward provides meaningful, hands-on volunteer experiences for civic-minded South Floridians in order to positively affect change in Broward County. We connect people who want to help with volunteer opportunities that make a difference in our community. We refer individuals and groups to over 600 nonprofit organizations in Broward County, Florida."

Suggested Databases

America's Newspapers
America's Newspapers from NewsBank provides full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 600 U.S. newspapers - all in one easy-to-search database. If you are accessing these resources from outside the Library, you will have to login using your College ID Lib # starting with 23301 and your Library PIN: the last four digits of your social security number.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue each week, ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education, and science. Forty-four reports produced each year, including four expanded reports. Includes charts, and graphs. If you are accessing these resources from outside the Library, you will have to login using your College ID Lib # starting with 23301 and your Library PIN: the last four digits of your social security number.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents. If you are accessing these resources from outside the Library, you will have to login using your College ID Lib # starting with 23301 and your Library PIN: the last four digits of your social security number.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 4,650 publications, including full-text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

In the News

Sun Sentinel - Society Scene

Contact Us:

Reference Department

Email Me

Contact:

3501 SW Davie Road, Bldg.17
Davie, FL 33314
954.201.6653 or 6223

Did you Know?

Volunteering in Florida

3.41 million volunteers
22.9% of residents volunteer - ranking them 45th among the 50 states and Washington, DC
458.7 million hours of service
30.8 hours per resident - ranking them 39th among the 50 states and Washington, DC
$10.0 billion of service contributed

(Source: Volunteeringinamerica.gov/fl)

How to Renew America through National Service and Volunteerism.

Usher's Testimony (8:08 min.)
https://www.youtube.com/v/G04v0KlJgD8

Login Information

You must log in with your BC Email to access magazine or journal articles, streaming videos, library eBooks, and library databases.

Need help?: Chat with a librarian or email us at library@broward.edu.

ENC 1101 - Prof. Lenhardt: Volunteerism and Community Service